Vettel on pole as Webber falters in Abu Dhabi

Sebastian Vettel will start from pole for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel will start from pole for the Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Mark Webber has endured a difficult qualifying session at the Yas Marina Circuit for tomorrow’s Abu Dhabi Grand Prix.

Webber’s Red Bull Racing team-mate Sebastian Vettel has taken pole, championship leader Fernando Alonso took third while the Australian will start the race from fifth.

It is Vettel’s 10th pole position of the year.

Webber was placed in fourth until Alonso skipped from fifth to third, dropping Webber on the third row. He will start alongside the Ferrari of Felipe Massa.

The McLarens Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button will take up second and fourth on the grid. Hamilton was involved in a clash with Massa in the second qualifying session.

If the drivers finished the race in the qualifying order, Alonso would win the world championship.

Vettel said at the press conference that he is looking forward to the race.

“We start from pole, it couldn’t be better,” he said.

“We went out last and we did.  It. It was a very good job by everybody and we’ll go out tomorrow and see what happens.”

Qualifying result, Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:40.318 1:39.874 1:39.394
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:40.335 1:40.119 1:39.425
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:40.170 1:40.311 1:39.792
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:40.877 1:40.014 1:39.823
5 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:40.690 1:40.074 1:39.925
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:40.942 1:40.323 1:40.202
7 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:40.904 1:40.476 1:40.203
8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1:41.222 1:40.452 1:40.516
9 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1:40.231 1:40.060 1:40.589
10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:41.018 1:40.658 1:40.901
11 Robert Kubica Renault 1:41.336 1:40.780  
12 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1:41.045 1:40.783  
13 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:41.473 1:40.914  
14 Nick Heidfeld BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1:41.409 1:41.113  
15 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:41.015 1:41.418  
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:41.681 1:41.642  
17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:41.707 1:41.738  
18 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:41.824    
19 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:43.516    
20 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:43.712    
21 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:44.095    
22 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:44.510    
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:45.085    
24 Christian Klien HRT-Cosworth 1:45.296    

Comments are closed.