Lowndes wins Race 21 at Symmons Plains

Craig Lowndes won Race 21 at Symmons Plains

Craig Lowndes won Race 21 at Symmons Plains

Craig Lowndes has won Race 21 of the V8 Supercars Championship Series at Symmons Plains today while Jamie Whincup sliced James Courtney’s championship lead in half.

TeamVodafone winner Lowndes launched off grid two, beating pole-sitter Garth Tander off the line and racing away to a comfortable win.

It continues Lowndes’ incredible run in the last half of the season which includes victory at Phillip Island and Bathurst and is now a genuine championship threat, just 188 points behind leader James Courtney.

Toll HRT’s Tander finished second ahead of Castrol EDGE Racing’s Greg Murphy – his best result of 2010 and his first podium since Bathurst in 2008.

The Bottle-O Racing’s Paul Dumbrell took fourth place ahead of Orrcon Steel FPR’s Mark Winterbottom.

Championship contender Jamie Whincup (TeamVodafone) finished sixth while title leader Courtney (Jim Beam Racing) was in 11th place. It means that the points gap between the pair has been reduced to 41 points.

Behind Whincup in seventh place was Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto Racing), Steve Richards (Dunlop Super Dealers FPR) and the Fujitsu/GRM cars of Michael Caruso and Lee Holdsworth.

Jason Bright (Trading Post Racing) and Shane van Gisbergen (SP Tools Racing) had a great battle, rubbing panels on a number of occasions. Bright eventually won the fight for 12th place.

Also embroiled in a couple of incidents was Will Davison (Toll HRT) and Tony D’Alberto (Centaur Racing).

Qualifying and Race 22 will be held at Symmons Plains tomorrow, rounding out the Falken Tasmania Challenge.

1 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE 44:18.2888
2 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE 44:22.4467
3 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 44:26.2765
4 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 44:28.5598
5 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 44:29.9273
6 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE 44:30.7412
7 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE 44:30.9234
8 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 44:37.2765
9 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE 44:38.1626
10 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE 44:38.3734
11 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 44:38.7964
12 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE 44:40.4661
13 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 44:40.9577
14 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE 44:41.4272
15 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE 44:42.9770
16 8 Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE 44:45.6437
17 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 44:49.7494
18 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 44:50.7842
19 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 44:51.1889
20 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 44:55.2721
21 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE 44:59.4734
22 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE 45:01.8647
23 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 45:07.7781
24 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 45:08.2620
25 30 Warren Luff Holden Commodore VE 44:25.7318
26 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE 44:34.2048
27 24 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE 45:02.3551
DNF 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 45:03.9606
DNF 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE 1:02.8422

Comments are closed.