Meyers clean sweeps on his way to Title

Jason Meyers

Jason Meyers holding the World of Outlaws Championship trophy aloft for the first time. Pic: Bobby Armbruister

Californian Jason Meyers has taken a clean sweep of the two feature races in the Lowes World of Outlaws World Finals at The Dirt Track at Charlotte to claim the 2010 World of Outlaws crown.

Meyers put his name in the records books as the first driver ever from the state of California to win a World of Outlaws title and became just the eighth driver in the storied 30-plus year history of the series to be crowned champion.

He had previously finished second in the series standings three times in his career, including in each of the last two years to Donny Schatz.

“It’s unbelievable,” shared Meyers.

“Being the first from California and just the eighth ever is incredible. To be able to put your name on that list, that’s why you do this.

“You work at it every day, because that’s what you strive to achieve. I’m looking forward to coming back and defending it next year. We have a great team here.”

Meyers drove a specially painted All Star Performance KPC for both of the rounds of the World Finals, and wound up leading a total of 33 of the 50 laps of feature racing competition on Saturday. Inclement weather on Friday led to the doubleheader on Saturday afternoon and evening, with the cars first taking to the track in the morning for heat races.

“Words can’t describe how excited we are,” said Meyers.

“We have been working at this for a long, long time. To come out here both of them is unbelievable. Everyone on this team works hard every day, no matter what. It’s just really incredible and I couldn’t be happier for everyone on this team and every single person involved.”

Meyers lined up second in the opener and chased Sam Hafertepe Jr. in the early going. Hafertepe encountered traffic on the fifth lap and just two circuits later Meyers closed in before taking the lead. Hafertepe battled back and spun in turn two while running second on the next lap as he tried to retake the lead, bring out the first caution of the race.

On the ensuing double file restart, Meyers chose the high line and jumped out to a quick lead over Joey Saldana. Despite encountering another double final restart Meyers would pull away from Saldana at the end to score his third win in the World Finals.

In the nightcap, Meyers again started on the outside of the front row. Daryn Pittman jumped out to the early lead from the pole and began to pull away before hitting traffic on the fifth lap. The only caution of the race came on the sixth circuit, with Pittman choosing the low line for the double file restart.

The lead pair was in traffic on the 11th lap, with Meyers again going low in turns three and four to take the top spot. He would quickly pull away and led the final 15 laps on his way to his career-best 11th A-Feature win of the season.

Saldana ended up second in the Budweiser Maxim in the opener to help secure the second spot in the owner standings for his Kasey Kahne Racing Team.

World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series
Race #1; The Dirt Track at Charlotte
Concord, NC

A-main (25 laps)

1. Jason Meyers
2. Joey Saldana
3. Daryn Pittman
4. Donny Schatz
5. Tim Shaffer
6. Paul McMahan
7. Steve Kinser
8. Lucas Wolfe
9. Jason Sides
10. Kraig Kinser
11. Dale Blaney
12. Ed Lynch Jr.
13. Cody Darrah
14. Ben Gregg
15. Randy Hannagan
16. Brian Ellenberger
17. Danny Holtgraver
18. Sam Hafertepe Jr.
19. Danny Lasoski
20. Fred Rahmer
21. Lance Dewease
22. Jac Haudenschild
23. Sammy Swindell
24. Kyle Sauder
25. Craig Dollansky
26. Shane Stewart

World of Outlaws Sprint Car Series
Race #2; The Dirt Track at Charlotte
Concord, NC

A-main (25 laps)

1. Jason Meyers
2. Daryn Pittman
3. Sammy Swindell
4. Jason Sides
5. Lance Dewease
6. Danny Lasoski
7. Donny Schatz
8. Paul McMahan
9. Joey Saldana
10. Sam Hafertepe Jr.
11. Kraig Kinser
12. Lucas Wolfe
13. Steve Kinser
14. Jac Haudenschild
15. Dale Blaney
16. Tim Shaffer
17. Brooke Tatnell
18. Craig Dollansky
19. Brian Ellenberger
20. Ben Gregg
21. Chad Kemenah
22. David Gravel
23. Justin Henderson
24. Danny Holtgraver
25. Jessica Zemken
26. Cole Duncan

Comments are closed.