FPR turns around horror to lock out front row

Orrcon Steel FPR's Mark Winterbottom/Luke Youlden will start from pole for Race 20 at the Armor All Gold Coast 600

Orrcon Steel FPR's Mark Winterbottom/Luke Youlden will start from pole for Race 20 at the Armor All Gold Coast 600

Ford Performance Racing has turned around its disaster day on the Gold Coast yesterday to lock out the front row of the grid for today’s final V8 Supercars race at the Armor All Gold Coast 600.

Mark Winterbottom/Luke Youlden’s Orrcon Steel FPR Falcon FG will start from pole for Race 20 of the V8 Championship Series, edging out team-mate Steve Richards/Will Power in the Dunlop Super Dealers entry.

The third FPR-prepared car of Paul Dumbrell/Jacques Villeneuve will start from eighth.

After a horror race yesterday when all three FPR Falcons were eliminated in the opening four corners, Winterbottom told Speedcafe.com.au that his title chances were over. CLICK HERE for that story.

Will his pole position for today’s race change the game again?

Championship leader James Courtney (Jim Beam Racing) scored the third fastest time ahead of Jamie Whincup/Steve Owen (TeamVodafone), Jason Bright/Alain Menu (Trading Post Racing), Shane van Gisbergen/John McIntyre (SP Tools Racing), Lee Holdsworth/Greg Ritter (Fujitsu/GRM), Dumbrell (The Bottle-O Racing), Jason Richards/Andrew Jones (Team BOC) and Rick Kelly/Owen Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing).

Yesterday’s race winner Garth Tander collected the wall at turn three, damaging the left hand side of his Toll Holden Racing Team Commodore. The car completed just seven laps and will start the race from 15th place.

Gulf Western Oils Racing’s Scott Pruett caused a red flag period when he rested the Commodore VE against the wall, but with no serious damage.

The race will start at 1335.

1 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 1:12.0389*
2 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 1:12.3944
3 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 1:12.4122
4 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE 1:12.4846
5 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE 1:12.5381
6 9 Shane Van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 1:12.5608
7 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE 1:12.5680
8 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 1:12.5869
9 8 Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE 1:12.5888
10 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE 1:12.7159
11 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE 1:12.7633
12 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 1:12.7989
13 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 1:12.8713
14 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE 1:12.8845
15 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE 1:12.9575
16 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE 1:12.9736
17 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 1:12.9858
18 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE 1:12.9926
19 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 1:13.0249
20 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 1:13.0873
21 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE 1:13.1018
22 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE 1:13.1477
23 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 1:13.2287
24 24 F.Coulthard/D.Reynolds Holden Commodore VE 1:13.2389
25 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE 1:13.2447
26 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 1:13.5509
27 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 1:13.6985
28 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE 1:14.5809
29 30 Scott Pruett Holden Commodore VE 1:14.6728

Comments are closed.