Priaulx fastest in Queensland Raceway V8 test

TeamVodafone driver Andy Priaulx

TeamVodafone driver Andy Priaulx

TeamVodafone driver Andy Priaulx has set the fastest time of the international V8 Supercars drivers at Queensland Raceway today.

NB: The times below are unofficial, and should be taken with a grain of salt, as each car was using tyres in different conditions. Some teams used brand-new rubber, while others ran on used tyres.

The UK driver, who will drive with Craig Lowndes in the #888 Vodafone-backed Commodore VE II, recorded the time on a day of varied conditions, including heavy rain and drying tracks.

Priaulx’s running was hampered by an engine change in the morning. The team changed the engine, going on to set the best time of the day, no doubt helped by his six previous starts in V8 endurances races in the past.

Lowndes was on hand at the track but did not complete any meaningful running in the car.

Second fastest of the internationals was Toll Holden Racing Team’s Ryan Briscoe, ahead of Jack Daniel’s IndyCar driver Scott Dixon, Fujitsu Racing’s Patrick Long and former Formula One world champion Jacques Villeneuve.

Tim Slade, who will pair up with three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves, was the fastest of the regular V8 drivers.

Drivers and teams will hit the newly-shortened Surfers Paradise street circuit for first official practice on Friday morning.


Andy Priaulx 1:11.3s
Ryan Briscoe 1:11.9s
Scott Dixon 1:12.0s
Patrick Long 1:12.0s
Yvan Muller 1:12.3s
Jacques Villenueve 1.12.4s
Gianni Morbidelli 1:12.4s
David Brabham 1:12.6s
Helio Castroneves 1:12.6s
Alex Tagliani 1:12.7s
Tiago Montiero 1:12.7s
Dario Franchitti 1:12.7s
Sebastien Bourdais 1:12.9s
Mika Salo 1:13.0s
Alain Menu 1:13.1s
Fabrizio Giovanardi 1:13.1s
Will Power 1.13.3s
Scott Pruett 1:15.2s
Yvan Muller n/a


Tim Slade 1:11.3s
Tony D’Alberto 1:11.6s
Steve Johnson 1:11.8s
Jason Bargwanna 1:11.8s
Steven Richards 1.11.8s
Michael Caruso 1:11.7s
Paul Dumbrell 1.11.9s
Jonathon Webb 1:11.9s
Will Davison 1:12.0s
Todd Kelly 1:12.2s
Jason Bright 1:12.2s
Karl Riendler 1:12.2s
Greg Murphy 1:12.3s
Andrew Thompson 1:12.8s
Alex Davison no time
Nathan Pretty no time
Craig Lowndes no time
Dean Fiore no time
Greg Murphy n/a

NOTE: Times were set in varying weather conditions on different quality of tyres.

Comments are closed.