GRID: Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000

Mark Winterbottom

Orrcon Steel FPR's Mark Winterbottom congratulated by team members Cmapbell Little and Tim Edwards

The grid for the 2010 V8 Supercars Championship Series has been officially set.

For the second time in his V8 career, Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing’s Mark Winterbottom will start from pole. It’s the fourth time that Winterbottom’s entry will start from the front row of the grid, the fifth-consecutive year he’s started in the top three and the 15th pole of his career.

While he has a great qualifying record, ‘Frosty’ is yet to stand on the podium of The Great Race. Will tomorrow be his first?

Holden’s great hope will be TeamVodafone. Craig Lowndes/Mark Skaife and Jamie Whincup/Steve Owen will start second and third ahead of Lee Holdsworth/Michael Caruso in the Fujitsu Racing Commodore VE.

The Toll Holden Racing Team will start fifth and sixth.

Beyond the top 10, there has been some frustrating team members and drivers walking up and down Pit Straight.

All three Stone Brothers Racing Ford Falcon will start outside the top 10 – a statistic not seen at Bathurst 1000 for some time.

The four car Kelly Racing squad also didn’t get a car into today’s shoot-out, with the best of its cars in 12th place (Rick Kelly/Owen Kelly). The other Jack Daniel’s Racing-supported car is well down in 27th.

Brad Jones Racing dominated the headlines yesterday, with Jason Bright (Trading Post Racing) taking provisional pole and Jason Richards (Team BOC) crashing heavily. Today, Bright dropped to eighth place while the #8 Richards car will start from pit lane.

Starting order; Supercheap Auto Bathurst 100; Mount Panorama

1 5 Mark Winterbottom Ford Falcon FG 2:07.5377*
2 888 Craig Lowndes Holden Commodore VE 2:07.6201
3 1 Jamie Whincup Holden Commodore VE 2:07.7226
4 33 Lee Holdsworth Holden Commodore VE 2:07.7674
5 2 Garth Tander Holden Commodore VE 2:07.8489
6 22 Will Davison Holden Commodore VE 2:08.0379
7 18 James Courtney Ford Falcon FG 2:08.1665
8 14 Jason Bright Holden Commodore VE 2:08.3979
9 51 Greg Murphy Holden Commodore VE 2:08.7361
10 55 Paul Dumbrell Ford Falcon FG 2:08.9597
11 17 Steven Johnson Ford Falcon FG 2:07.9635
12 15 Rick Kelly Holden Commodore VE 2:08.0556
13 9 Shane van Gisbergen Ford Falcon FG 2:08.0656
14 6 Steven Richards Ford Falcon FG 2:08.1161
15 34 Michael Caruso Holden Commodore VE 2:08.2907
16 39 Russell Ingall Holden Commodore VE 2:08.3541
17 19 Jonathon Webb Ford Falcon FG 2:08.3753
18 4 Alex Davison Ford Falcon FG 2:08.4052
19 11 Jason Bargwanna Holden Commodore VE 2:08.4550
20 3 Tony D’Alberto Holden Commodore VE 2:08.5508
21 24 Fabian Coulthard Holden Commodore VE 2:08.6359
22 21 Karl Reindler Holden Commodore VE 2:08.8156
23 12 Dean Fiore Ford Falcon FG 2:08.8886
24 10 Andrew Thompson Holden Commodore VE 2:09.0272
25 47 Tim Slade Ford Falcon FG 2:09.0784
26 30 Nathan Pretty Holden Commodore VE 2:09.1773
27 7 Todd Kelly Holden Commodore VE 2:09.3223
28 16 Tony Ricciardello Holden Commodore VE 2:10.4957
29 44 G.Emery/M.Zukanovic Holden Commodore VE 2:11.5023
EXC 27 Damian Assaillit Ford Falcon BF 2:07.5377*
8 Jason Richards Holden Commodore VE

Comments are closed.