GMR scrambling for Wildcard endurance driver

Greg Murphy Racing at the Winton test last Monday

Greg Murphy Racing at the Winton test last Monday

Andrew Fisher will not compete in the L&H 500 at Phillip Island with V8 Supercars Wildcard entrants Greg Murphy Racing.

After testing with the GMR squad at Winton on Monday, Fisher has elected to sit out Phillip Island and hopes to secure a deal with the team for the Supercheap Auto Bathurst 1000 in October.

Fisher’s decision not to race at Phillip Island has left a hole in GMR’s enduro plans. Geoff Emery is the only confirmed driver for the #46 car.

Fisher told that it was too late to be correctly prepared for The Island, but is still keen to race at Bathurst.

“I’ve decided not to do Phillip Island. It’s a difficult decision,” he said.

“With a lack of preparation going into it, and a whole range of issues around that, I was better off foregoing that opportunity and concentrating on our V8 Ute program at Phillip Island.

“We are still in discussions with GMR for the Bathurst 1000. That works for us, as it suits our PR plans better as well. If we did Phillip Island, we’ve only got a week before the race and we’re not going to get the value that we would expect.”

GMR team owner Kevin Murphy told that Fisher will still be considered for Bathurst and has experienced options for Phillip Island.

Regardless, a decision will have to be made soon.

“We’re talking to some people at the moment for Phillip Island, and it would have to be an experienced V8 driver,” Murphy said.

“We don’t have a lot of time to do it, and with no to test, we need some who can jump in the car who is fresh out of a V8.

“We want someone with V8 experience for Phillip Island but, money as always, seems to be the stumbling block.

“Andrew is in the mix for Bathurst, but were not giving up on it. We still want to be there.”

GMR, currently leading the Fujitsu V8 Series with Steve Owen, is one of two Wildcard entrants in this year’s V8 Supercars endurance races. The other entry is for Matthew White Motorsport. CLICK HERE to see that squad’s driver line-up and car livery.

Comments are closed.