Webber takes pole in mixed qualifying

Mark Webber will start the Belgian Grand Prix from pole position in his Red Bull Racing RB6

Mark Webber will start the Belgian Grand Prix from pole position in his Red Bull Racing RB6

Mark Webber has taken pole position in a wet/dry qualifying session at the Spa Francorchamps circuit in Belgium.

The Australian Formula One championship leader edged out his closest title challenger Lewis Hamilton.

It is Webber’s fifth pole for the year and his first pole since the Turkish Grand Prix in May.

Webber set his fastest time on his first lap of the Q3 session before light rain foiled any chance of others beating his Red Bull.

Renault’s Robert Kubica produced strong speed, taking third ahead of fellow Renault-engine entrant Sebastian Vettel.

Jenson Button will line-up fifth ahead of Ferrari’s Felipe Massa and Rubens Barrichello, competing in his 300th Formula One Grand Prix – the first man to reach the milestone.

Rounding out the top 10 was Adrian Sutil (Force India), Nico Hulkenberg (Williams) and a disappointing Fernando Alonso (Ferrari).

The Mercedes pairing of Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg were bumped out of Q3, but will both take grid spot penalties for their infringements at Hungary last month.

The Q1 session was riddled with drama, triggered by Renault’s Vitaly Petrov. The Russian crashed as rain hit the circuit, and the ensuing red flag period allowed more rain to arrive. When running got back under way in tricky conditions, Lucas di Grassi, Adrian Sutil and Jarno Trulli all went off at Stavelot.

For Australian viewers, the Belgian Grand Prix can be viewed on ONE HD tomorrow night at 9.50pm (check your local guides).

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:57.352 1:47.253 1:45.778
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:56.706 1:46.211 1:45.863
3 Robert Kubica Renault 1:56.041 1:47.320 1:46.100
4 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:58.487 1:47.245 1:46.127
5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:57.981 1:46.790 1:46.206
6 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:58.323 1:47.322 1:46.314
7 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:55.757 1:47.797 1:46.602
8 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:58.730 1:47.292 1:46.659
9 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:55.442 1:47.821 1:47.053
10 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:57.023 1:47.544 1:47.441
11 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1:56.313 1:47.874
12 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1:54.826 1:47.885
13 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:58.944 1:48.267
14 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 2:01.102 1:48.680
15 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 2:00.386 1:49.209
16 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 2:01.343 1:50.980
17 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 2:01.316 1:52.049
18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 2:01.491
19 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 2:02.284
20 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 2:03.612
21 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 2:03.941
22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 2:05.294
23 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 2:18.754
24 Vitaly Petrov Renault No time

Comments are closed.