Will Power receives Mario Andretti Trophy

Mario Andretti presents Will Power the road course trophy

Mario Andretti presents Will Power the road course trophy

Motorsport legend Mario Andretti has presented Toowoomba’s Will Power with the inaugural Mario Andretti Championship Trophy and a US$50,000 cheque to the Team Penske driver in Victory Circle following the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma.

Click here for race report.

Andretti, the winner of the 1978 F1 World Championship, as well as 23 road course victories in his IndyCar racing career gave Power some advice.

“You have to enjoy it while you can; it never lasts long,” said Andretti.

“Right now, he’s on a roll and God bless him. It’s wonderful to see.”

Power, who outdistanced Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Dario Franchitti for the award, also maintains the overall championship points lead heading into the final four races of the season.

“Even though he has the points lead, you don’t rest and that’s the beauty of IndyCar,” said 70-year-old Andretti.

“To win the overall championship, you have to be proficient on all sides of what it has to offer. That’s what I really enjoy about the series since it started having the mix (in 2005) of ovals and road courses.

“As a driver, that always was the ultimate challenge.”

Will Power and Will Davison catch-up at Sonoma

Will Power and Will Davison catch-up at Sonoma

Outside of the championship itself, the other trophy on offer is the A.J. Foyt Oval Championship Trophy which is calculated on most points up until and including Twin Ring Motegi in Japan, the penultimate round in the IndyCar Series. Power is currently in eighth position with Target Chip Ganassi’s Scott Dixon leading his teammate Franchitti.

Power wrapped the road/street title at Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course – buoyed by victories at Brazil, St. Petersburg, Watkins Glen and Toronto. He added a victory in the Indy Grand Prix of Sonoma, and also finished on the podium at Long Beach, Edmonton and Mid-Ohio. His points total was supplemented by seven PEAK Performance Pole Awards on road/streets.

“To get the award named in honour of someone I looked up to as a kid is fantastic,” Power said.

“The key was winning, actually. In any championship, winning makes a huge difference, but so does consistency. I’ve had a very strong team around me all year and two very good teammates that have helped me a lot. I’ve had a good run.”

Also there to celebrate was good friend and former Formula Ford rival, Will Davison, of the Toll Holden Racing Team. 

IndyCar, Sonoma results

Pos. Start Driver Laps Status
1. 1 Will Power 75 Running
2. 6 Scott Dixon 75 Running
3. 3 Dario Franchitti 75 Running
4. 5 Ryan Briscoe 75 Running
5. 2 Helio Castroneves 75 Running
6. 7 Justin Wilson 75 Running
7. 9 Tony Kanaan 75 Running
8. 8 Ryan Hunter-Reay 75 Running
9. 16 Graham Rahal 75 Running
10. 22 Alex Lloyd 75 Running
11. 20 Mario Moraes 75 Running
12. 18 Marco Andretti 75 Running
13. 11 Simona de Silvestro 75 Running
14. 4 Alex Tagliani 75 Running
15. 21 Vitor Meira 75 Running
16. 23 Danica Patrick 75 Running
17. 14 Hideki Mutoh 74 Running
18. 17 Takuma Sato 74 Running
19. 15 E.J. Viso 74 Running
20. 25 Francesco Dracone 71 Contact
21. 10 Raphael Matos 67 Contact
22. 24 Milka Duno 67 Running
23. 13 Bertrand Baguette 65 Contact
24 19 JR Hildebrand 38 Contact
25. 12 Dan Wheldon 0 Contact


IndyCar – Top-10 Championship after 13 of 17 races

Pos. Driver Points
1. Will Power 514
2. Dario Franchitti 455
3. Scott Dixon 419
4. Ryan Briscoe 384
5. Helio Castroneves 370
6. Ryan Hunter-Reay 360
7. Tony Kanaan 330
8. Justin Wilson 290
9 Marco Andretti 284
10. Dan Wheldon 269


IndyCar – Top-10 Mario Andretti Trophy – Final Positions

Pos. Driver Points
1. Will Power 412
2. Dario Franchitti 307
3. Scott Dixon 268
4. Ryan Hunter-Reay 264
5. Helio Castroneves 249
6. Ryan Briscoe 247
7. Justin Wilson 224
8. Tony Kanaan 195
9. Raphael Matos 183
10. Marco Andretti 178


IndyCar – Top-10 AJ Foyt Trophy – Three races remaining

Pos. Driver Points
1. Scott Dixon 151
2. Dario Franchitti 148
3. Ryan Briscoe 137
4. Tony Kanaan 135
5. Helio Castroneves 121
6. Danica Patrick 111
7. Marco Andretti 106
8. Will Power 102
9. Dan Wheldon 100
10. Ryan Hunter-Reay 96

Comments are closed.