Massa hands Alonso German GP win

Sunday 25th July, 2010 - 11:49pm


Fernando Alonso

Fernando Alonso

In controversial circumstances, Felipe Massa has handed Fernando Alonso victory in the German Grand Prix at Hockenheim.

Massa led from the start of the race until lap 49 when his Ferrari team relayed the message to Massa; “Fernando is faster than you. Can you confirm you understood that message?”

Alonso passed Massa with ease on the exit of the hairpin, racing onto his second win for the year. The result has elevated him back into championship contention after a succession of difficult rounds.

Massa, winless since the final race of the 2008 season, remains in eighth in the championship.

While the result is sure to create varied chat amongst the Formula One pundits, the situation started thanks to a mixed start to the race. Red Bull Racing’s pole-sitter Sebastian Vettel was slow away at the start and did his best to block Alonso on the run to turn one. From third on the grid, Massa took the opportunity and drive around the outside of both, taking the lead and staying there until he was directed not to be …

Vettel finished in third place, setting a number of fast laps towards the end of the race (including the fastest time) placing Massa under some pressure, but not enough to genuinely challenge.

Vettel’s team-mate Mark Webber finished down in sixth place, battling through the race with some oil pressure problems, as well as a car that simply didn’t look settled.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button finished between the Red Bull pair, taking fourth and fifth.

Rounding out the point finishers, all a lap down, was Robert Kubica (Renault), Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) and Vitaly Petrov (Renault).

The next round of the Formula One World Championship heads to Budapest next weekend.

German Grand Prix Results

Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired Grid
1 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 67 Winner 2
2 Felipe Massa Ferrari 67 +4.1 secs 3
3 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 67 +5.1 secs 1
4 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 67 +26.8 secs 6
5 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 67 +29.4 secs 5
6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 67 +43.6 secs 4
7 Robert Kubica Renault 66 +1 Lap 7
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 66 +1 Lap 9
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 66 +1 Lap 11
10 Vitaly Petrov Renault 66 +1 Lap 13
11 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 12
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 8
13 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth +1 Lap 10
14 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari +1 Lap 14
15 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari +1 Lap 15
16 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes +2 Lap 21
17 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes +2 Lap 19
18 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth +3 Lap 23
19 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth +4 Lap 20
Ret Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth +11 Lap 18
Ret Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth +17 Lap 24
Ret Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth +48 Laps 22
Ret Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth +64 Laps 17
Ret Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari +66 Laps 16

World Championship points

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 157
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 143
3 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 136
4 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 136
5 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 123
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 94
7 Robert Kubica Renault 89
8 Felipe Massa Ferrari 85
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 38
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 35
11 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 29
12 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 15
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 12
14 Vitaly Petrov Renault 7
15 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 7
16 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 3
17 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 2
18 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 0
20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 0
21 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 0
22 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 0
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 0
24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 0
25 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 0 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!