Webber defeats Vettel, gets upper hand

Mark Webber won the British Grand Prix

Mark Webber won the British Grand Prix

Mark Webber has bounced back from the controversial events of qualifying to dominate the British Grand Prix, moving himself ahead of team-mate Sebastian Vettel in the championship standings.

The Australian came out on top of a crucial first corner scrap with the pole-sitting Vettel, who had squeezed a fast-starting Webber to the inside heading into Turn 1, but subsequently found himself out of road on exit.

While Webber emerged with the lead, Vettel suffered a puncture and dropped almost a complete lap in the process.

Webber set about building a healthy margin over the pursuing Hamilton, pitted for tyres one lap after the McLaren, and dealt with a mid-race Safety Car (called due to debris on the circuit) to take a commanding win.

Hamilton hung on for second, while Nico Rosberg provided a much needed boost for Mercedes GP with third. The German had been involved in an entertaining tussle with Robert Kubica and Fernando Alonso early in the race, and managed to pass Kubica in the pits by stopping three laps later than the Renault.

Alonso meanwhile managed to pass Kubica around the outside in the Vale chicane, but was later served with a drive-through penalty for completing the move outside the bounds of the race track. Kubica retired with differential failure soon after, meaning a frustrated Alonso was unable to ‘re-address’ the situation once the penalty had been given. The Spainard would eventually finish outside the points in 14th place.

The man who had started in 14th, Jenson Button, finished a fine fourth – having made up six places alone on the opening lap.

The McLaren driver led home the Williams of Rubens Barrichello and the Sauber of Kamui Kobayashi.

Vettel provided the late-race entertainment as he battled through to seventh after benefiting greatly from the mid-race Safety Car, moving ahead of compatriots Adrian Sutil, Michael Schumacher and Nico Hulkenberg in the closing laps.

Felipe Massa had another horrible day in the second Ferrari – picking up a puncture on the opening lap, and later spinning wildly into the infield on the exit of Luffield, before rejoining to finish 15th.

Webber’s victory sees him become the first three-time race winner of the season. He now moves to third on the points table behind McLaren pair Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button.

Britsh Grand Prix results

Pos Driver Team Laps Time/Retired
1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 52 1:24:38.200
2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 52 +1.3 secs
3 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 52 +21.3 secs
4 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 52 +21.9 secs
5 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 52 +31.4 secs
6 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 52 +32.1 secs
7 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 52 +36.7 secs
8 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 52 +40.9 secs
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 52 +41.5 secs
10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 52 +42.0 secs
11 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 52 +42.4 secs
12 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 52 +47.6 secs
13 Vitaly Petrov Renault 52 +59.3 secs
14 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 52 +62.3 secs
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 52 +67.4 secs
16 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 51 +1 Lap
17 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 51 +1 Lap
18 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 50 +2 Laps
19 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 50 +2 Laps
20 Sakon Yamamoto HRT-Cosworth 50 +2 Laps
Ret Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 44 Brakes
Ret Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 29 Accident damage
Ret Robert Kubica Renault 19 Driveshaft
Ret Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 9 Hydraulics

Chamopionship  ladder

Pos Driver Nationality Team Points
1 Lewis Hamilton British McLaren-Mercedes 145
2 Jenson Button British McLaren-Mercedes 133
3 Mark Webber Australian RBR-Renault 128
4 Sebastian Vettel German RBR-Renault 121
5 Fernando Alonso Spanish Ferrari 98
6 Nico Rosberg German Mercedes GP 90
7 Robert Kubica Polish Renault 83
8 Felipe Massa Brazilian Ferrari 67
9 Michael Schumacher German Mercedes GP 36
10 Adrian Sutil German Force India-Mercedes 35
11 Rubens Barrichello Brazilian Williams-Cosworth 29
12 Kamui Kobayashi Japanese BMW Sauber-Ferrari 15
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi Italian Force India-Mercedes 12
14 Sebastien Buemi Swiss STR-Ferrari 7
15 Vitaly Petrov Russian Renault 6
16 Jaime Alguersuari Spanish STR-Ferrari 3
17 Nico Hulkenberg German Williams-Cosworth 2
18 Pedro de la Rosa Spanish BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0
19 Heikki Kovalainen Finnish Lotus-Cosworth 0
20 Karun Chandhok Indian HRT-Cosworth 0
21 Lucas di Grassi Brazilian Virgin-Cosworth 0

Comments are closed.