Gollob’s Polish win moves him to the top

Tomasz Gollob on top of the podium in his home Grand Prix

Tomasz Gollob on top of the podium in his home Grand Prix

World Number Two Tomasz Gollob led a Polish trifecta in the FIM Torun Speedway Grand Prix of Poland on Saturday night.

The victory, which saw him go undefeated throughout his seven rides of the evening, elevates him to the top of the points table in the World Speedway Grand Prix.

An explosive home crowd also saw Norwegian-born Polish international Rune Holta join him on the podium as runner-up, while SGP title challenger Jaroslaw Hampel claimed the bronze medal.

It has been 37 years since a Pole was last crowned world individual champion. But Gollob feels he is in the form of his life and is ready to realise his dream of becoming No.1.

“I’m very happy tonight; that was absolutely fantastic. Congratulations to Rune and Jarek because that last heat was very hard. Getting maximum points is great for me and now I am in first position,” said Gollob.

“It’s going to be hard work in the next six GPs. But I was in good form tonight. I was always having a fantastic race with the bikes.

“I think I may be strong for the next six rounds of the GP. This year my dream is to be the world champion. The 2010 world champion will be Polish – me or Jarek.”

Reigning world champion Australian Jason Crump closed the gap on the series’ top three after reaching the final. His 15-point haul leaves him in fourth spot, but just one point behind Danish hotshot Kenneth Bjerre in third.

While the inaugural Torun SGP will go down in Polish speedway history, Torun fans will not have enjoyed an horrific spill for their Australian star Chris Holder in heat 14.

Holder lost control going into turn three, failed to correct his move and was sent sprawling across Greg Hancock’s path.

The American’s footrest clipped Holder’s arm and the 22-year-old was left in agony on the shale. Initial reports suggested he had broken his arm, but he was hopeful it was just muscle damage and was set to undergo x-rays.


1. Tomasz Gollob 78
2. Jaroslaw Hampel 75
3. Kenneth Bjerre 59
4. Jason Crump 58
5. Rune Holta 48
6. Andreas Jonsson 46
7. Hans Andersen 46
8. Nicki Pedersen 44
9. Chris Holder 41
10. Magnus Zetterstrom 37
11. Chris Harris 36
12. Greg Hancock 34
13. Freddie Lindgren 33
14. Emil Sayfutdinov 27
15. Tai Woffinden 22
16. Janusz Kolodziej 12
17. Adrian Miedzinski 6
18. Antonio Lindback 6
19. Piotr Protasiewicz 5
20. Matej Kus 3
21. Leon Madsen 3
22. Nicolai Klindt 1

FIM Torun Speedway Grand Prix of Poland
Semi-Final 1

1. Tomasz Gollob
2. Jasoslaw Hampel
3. Nicki Pedersen
4. Tai Woffinden.

Semi-Final 2

1. Rune Holta
2. Jason Crump
3. Hans Andersen
4. Adrian Miedzinski.


1. Tomasz Gollob
2. Rune Holta
3. Jaroslaw Hampel
4. Jason Crump.

Comments are closed.