Hamilton leads home McLaren Canada 1-2

Monday 14th June, 2010 - 3:47am


Lewis Hamilton won the Canadian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton won the Canadian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton has won the Canadian Grand Prix, beating his McLaren team-mate Jenson Button to the team’s second one-two result in-a-row.

In a race dictated by tyre strategy, Hamilton converted his pole into his second win at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve. It was also his 13th career win and moves him to the top of the world championship standings ahead of Button and Mark Webber.

Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso took third place, fading in the final 10 laps and lost his second place to Button.

Sebastian Vettel was fourth ahead of team-mate Mark Webber. The Red Bull pair both led the race at various points but were both hampered by less than ideal tyre strategy.

Vettel might have had an opportunity to challenge for a podium, but a mechanical problem hindered his progress, forcing him to back off and collect fourth.

Webber led the midpoint of the race as the Red Bull Racing team tried to run him as long as possible on the hard tyre, but eventually fell into the grasp of Hamilton and Alonso. By the time he pitted, he dropped to fifth where he remained. The results has dropped the Australian to third in the world title.

Nico Rosberg (Mercedes) took sixth place ahead of Robert Kubica (Renault), Sebastien Buemi (Toro Rosso) and the Force India pair of Tonio Luizzi and Adrian Sutil. Bothe the Force India drivers passed Michael Schumacher (Mercedes) on the final lap to secure points finishes.

Results, Canadian Grand Prix

Pos Driver Team Laps Grid
1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 70 1
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 70 4
3 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 70 3
4 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 70 2
5 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 70 7
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 70 10
7 Robert Kubica Renault 70 8
8 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 69 15
9 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 69 5
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 69 9
11 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 69 13
12 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 69 16
13 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 69 12
14 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 69 11
15 Felipe Massa Ferrari 69 6
16 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 68 19
17 Vitaly Petrov Renault 68 14
18 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 64 24
19 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 65 23
Ret Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 50 21
Ret Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 42 20
Ret Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 30 17
Ret Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 13 22
Ret Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1 18

World championship points

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 109
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 106
3 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 103
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 94
5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 90
6 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 74
7 Robert Kubica Renault 73
8 Felipe Massa Ferrari 67
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 34
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 23
11 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 12
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 7
13 Vitaly Petrov Renault 6
14 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 5
15 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 3
16 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1
17 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1
18 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 0
20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 0
21 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 0
22 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 0
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 0
24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 0 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!