Lewis takes Montreal pole, ends RBR’s run

Sunday 13th June, 2010 - 10:09am


Lewis Hamilton on his way to pole in qualifying

Lewis Hamilton on his way to pole in qualifying

Red Bull Racing’s run of pole positions is over after McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton won the top spot for the first time this year at the Canadian Grand Prix.

The result maintained Hamilton’s record at Montreal – qualifying on pole there every time he has raced at the Circuit Gilles Villeneueve.

Hamilton laid down an early time in the final qualifying session that initially looked unbeatable, until Mark Webber and Fernando Alonso (Ferrari) displaced him.

The McLaren driver went back out and grabbed the top spot by a comfortable 0.268s. After his lap, he stopped on the track having run short of fuel!

Webber held on for second place, ahead of his Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel.

Alonso took fourth, ahead of Jenson Button (McLaren), while Force India’s Tonio Liuzzi took a super sixth.

The biggest surprise of the was Michael Schumacher’s failure to get into Q3 for the first time this year.

For Australian television viewers, the race starts at 1.50am Monday morning on ONE HD (Check your local guides).

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.889 1:15.528 1:15.105
2. Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:16.423 1:15.692 1:15.373
3. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:16.129 1:15.556 1:15.420
4. Alonso Ferrari 1:16.171 1:15.597 1:15.435
5. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:16.371 1:15.742 1:15.520
6. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:17.086 1:16.171 1:15.648
7. Massa Ferrari 1:16.673 1:16.314 1:15.688
8. Kubica Renault 1:16.370 1:15.682 1:15.715
9. Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:16.495 1:16.295 1:15.881
10. Rosberg Mercedes 1:16.350 1:16.001 1:16.071
11. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:16.880 1:16.434
12. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:16.770 1:16.438
13. Schumacher Mercedes 1:16.598 1:16.492
14. Petrov Renault 1:16.569 1:16.844
15. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:17.356 1:16.928
16. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:17.027 1:17.029
17. de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1:17.611 1:17.384
18. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:18.019
19. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:18.237
20. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:18.698
21. Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:18.941
22. Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:19.484
23. di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:19.675
24. Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1:27.757 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!