McFadden stars amid controversy in Darwin

Monday 31st May, 2010 - 9:58am


McFadden flanked by Jamie Maiolo (left) and Stephen Bell (right) on the podium in Darwin. Pic: Paul Carruthers

McFadden flanked by Jamie Maiolo (left) and Stephen Bell (right) on the podium in Darwin. Pic: Paul Carruthers

For the past twelve months James McFadden has been knocking on the door of stardom on the Australian Sprintcar scene.  Last night in Darwin he became the star.

McFadden added his name to an illustrious list in Australian Speedway by claiming the victory in one of the most thrilling Australian Championship Finals for a number of years.

The Northern Territorian, now domiciled in Queensland, had been among the pacesetters all throughout the weekend before making the most of his opportunities in the 40-lap championship final.

McFadden inherited the lead on lap 24 after early race leader Ryan Farrell, who was running second at the time, collected Kerry Madsen whilst trying to execute a slidejob, sending Madsen careering into the wall before flipping violently.

Madsen was furious with the move and remonstrated with Farrell who was sent to the rear of the field.

The demise of Madsen, and effective end of Farrell’s title hopes, allowed McFadden to take up the front running ahead of a quartet of unsung heroes of the sport Stephen Bell, Jamie Maiolo, Matt Egel and Trevor Green.

James McFadden on his way to victory in the Valvoline Australian Sprintcar Championship. Pic: Paul Carruthers

James McFadden on his way to victory in the Valvoline Australian Sprintcar Championship. Pic: Paul Carruthers

Mcfadden maintained his advantage aboard the Scott Milling-owned Totally Workwear entry for the remaining 16 laps with Bell and Maiolo rounding out the podium.

“I had a good car throughout and thought I could keep up. It sucks for those guys (Madsen and Farrell) but it’s good for me,” said McFadden.

“I’ll have to step up my game a bit now I’ve got the number one on my car.

“I’d like to thank Scott Milling who without I wouldn’t be here, the same can be said for my Mum and Dad who’ve been with me the entire way from the go-kart days, unfortunately Mum had to head home but she was a big part of this.

“Big thanks must also go to Kenny Mac from KRE engines, the guys from Totally Workwear and everyone else that’s helped me throughout my career.”

Farrell charged back into sixth ahead of Brooke Tatnell, defending champion Garry Brazier, Jamie Cobby and Max Dumesny who rounded out the top ten.

Australian Sprintcar Championship Honour List

Year Winner Venue
1962/63 Bill Willis (VIC) Windsor NSW
1963/64 Dick Briton (NSW) Windsor NSW
1964/65 Bill Warner (NSW) Windsor NSW
1965/66 Dick Briton (NSW) Westmead NSW
1966/67 Dick Briton (NSW) Westmead NSW
1967/68 Bob Tunks (NSW) Sydney NSW
1968/69 Jim Winterbottom (NSW) Morriset NSW
1969/70 Bill Wigzell (NSW) Morriset NSW
1970/71 Dick Briton (NSW) Sydney NSW
1971/72 Graham McCubbin (VIC) Warrnambool VIC
1972/73 John Moyle (SA) Rowley Park SA
1973/74 Jim Winterbottom (NSW) Tralee ACT
1974/75 Dick Briton (NSW) Brisbane QLD
1975/76 Noel Bradford (WA) Latrobe TAS
1976/77 Garry Rush (NSW) Bunbury WA
1977/78 Garry Rush (NSW) Parramatta NSW
1978/79 Steve Brazier (NSW) Warrnambool VIC
1979/80 Steve Brazier (NSW) Adelaide SA
1980/81 Garry Rush (NSW) Brisbane QLD
1981/82 Garry Rush (NSW) Tralee ACT
1982/83 Garry Rush (NSW) Newcastle NSW
1983/84 Garry Rush (NSW) Rockhampton QLD
1984/85 Ron Krikke (WA) Claremont WA
1985/86 Garry Rush (NSW) Warrnambool VIC
1986/87 Brett Lacey (VIC) Darwin NT
1987/88 George Tatnell (NSW) Adelaide SA
1988/89 Garry Rush (NSW) Canberra ACT
1989/90 Garry Rush (NSW) Brisbane QLD
1990/91 Max Dumesny (NSW) Launceston TAS
1991/92 Garry Rush (NSW) Parramatta NSW
1992/93 Ron Krikke (WA) Claremont WA
1993/94 Garry Brazier (NSW) Warrnambool VIC
1994/95 Garry Brazier (NSW) Mt Gambier SA
1995/96 Todd Wanless (QLD) Brisbane QLD
1996/97 Garry Brazier (NSW) Parramatta NSW
1997/98 Max Dumesny (NSW) Bunbury WA
1998/99 Phil March (SA) Warrnambool VIC
1999/00 Garry Brazier (NSW) Adelaide SA
2000/01 Skip Jackson (NSW) Brisbane QLD
2001/02 Max Dumesny (NSW) Parramatta NSW
2002/03 Kerry Madsen (NSW) Warrnambool VIC
2003/04 Robbie Farr (NSW) Bunbury WA
2004/05 Brooke Tatnell (NSW) Murray Bridge SA
2005/06 Brooke Tatnell (NSW) Brisbane QLD
2006/07 Brooke Tatnell (NSW) Latrobe TAS
2007/08 Garry Brazier (NSW) Parramatta NSW
2008/09 Garry Brazier (NSW) Perth WA
2009/10 James McFadden (NT) Darwin NT comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!