Hamilton wins in Turkey after Red Bulls clash

Lewis Hamilton dodged the Red Bull carnage to win the Turkish Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton dodged the Red Bull carnage to win the Turkish Grand Prix

McLaren has taken a one-two result at the Turkish Grand Prix after a controversial clash between the pace-setting Red Bull Racing cars in Istanbul.

Pole-sitter Mark Webber (Red Bull) led from the start and resisted an early challenge from Lewis Hamilton before coming under pressure from team-mate Sebastian Vettel, who leapt into second after an early pit stop.

On lap 41, the race came to a head when Vettel got a run on Webber and looked poised to displace the Australian at the front, but the pair clashed on the back straight, sending Vettel out of the race.

The incident promoted Lewis Hamilton and Jenson Button into the top places, but the race wasn’t done. Button passed Hamilton in the same place when Webber and Vettel clashed, but the McLaren drivers kept it clean in an exciting scrap. Hamilton was able to re-pass Button soon after and went on to take his first win for the season.

Webber’s front wing was damaged and a pit stop to replace it saw him eventually take third place. On a positive note, he held onto the championship lead while Vettel dropped down to fifth.

Mercedes Grand Prix drivers Michael Schumacher and Nico Rosberg finished fifth and sixth respectively, ahead of Robert Kubica (Renault), Felipe Massa (Ferrari), Fernando Alonso (Ferrari), Adrian Sutil (Force India) and Kamui Kobayashi (BMW Sauber-Ferrari).

Kobayashi’s 10th place was the first points for the Sauber team this year.

The next round of the Formula One World Championship will be held in Canada in two weeks time (June 11-13).

Results: Turkish Grand Prix

1 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 58
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 58
3 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 58
4 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 58
5 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 58
6 Robert Kubica Renault 58
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 58
8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 58
9 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 58
10 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 58
11 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 58
12 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 58
13 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 57
14 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 57
15 Vitaly Petrov Renault 57
16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 57
17 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 57
18 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 58
19 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 58
20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 52
Ret Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 46
Ret Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 39
Ret Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 33
Ret Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 32

World Championship points after seven rounds

1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 93
2 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 88
3 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 84
4 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 79
5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 78
6 Robert Kubica Renault 67
7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 67
8 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 66
9 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 34
10 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 22
11 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 10
12 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 7
13 Vitaly Petrov Renault 6
14 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 3
15 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1
16 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1
17 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1
18 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 0
19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 0
20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 0
21 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 0
22 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 0
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 0
24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 0

Comments are closed.