Helio Castroneves tops Fast Friday at Indy

Helio Castroneves on Fast Friday at Indianapolis

Helio Castroneves on Fast Friday at Indianapolis

Three-time Indy 500 winner Helio Castroneves has topped ‘Fast Friday’ practice for the Indianapolis 500 at the Brickyard on the last day of practice before this weekend’s qualifying.

The Brazilian will enter tomorrow’s Pole Day activities holding the fastest time of the month of May so far, with his lap 227.046mph from Practice 2 still the benchmark.

“Certainly with the conditions we had today, we put all of our focus on qualifying,” said Castroneves.

“You want to make sure you get a clean run in and try to simulate a qualifying run as closely as possible. We’re fast and we’re pushing to the limit and trying to make sure that we’re comfortable for tomorrow.”

It was a strong day for Aussie ace Will Power, who was second fastest today and achieved his best lap for the month of May so far. His time today puts him seventh for the month overall as he looks to clinch his first oval win in the biggest race on the IndyCar schedule. The third Team Penske car of Ryan Briscoe was seventh fastest.

“Today was another great day, the best it’s been all week,” said Power.

“The Verizon car feels great out on track, whether I’m in the draft or out on my own. I think we’re prepared for Pole Day, and I know I’m anxious to get out there and give it a go.”

Alex Tagliani continues to impress for the FAZZT Race Team, running third fastest today ahead of Target Chip Ganassi Racing’s Scott Dixon, who remains the second fastest driver for the month overall entering Pole Day tomorrow and Bump Day on Sunday US time.

RESULTS: Indianapolis 500 – ‘Fast Friday’ Practice 7

Pos No Driver Team Lap Speed
1. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 226.558mph
2. #12 Will Power Team Penske 226.429
3. #77 Alex Tagliani FAZZT Race Team 226.153
4. #9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing 225.828
5. #32 Mario Moraes KV Racing Technology 225.806
6. #11 Tony Kanaan Andretti Autosport 225.617
7. #6 Ryan Briscoe Team Penske 225.300
8. #26 Marco Andretti Andretti Autosport 225.296
9. #10 Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing 225.281
10. #99 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt Motorsports 225.177

Comments are closed.