Dixon again leads Indy 500 practice

Scott Dixon at Indy

Scott Dixon at Indy

New Zealand’s Scott Dixon has topped the timesheets in practice for the Indianapolis 500 for the second consecutive day.

Dixon’s #9 Target Chip Ganassi Racing IndyCar set the pace with time of 39.6526 seconds at an average speed of 226.971 mph around the 2.5-mile speedway.

“Today was similar to the last few days where we were running the car in race set-up to find some mechanical grip and make it more predictable in traffic, and we were able to find some things, which were quite good,” said Dixon, who won at Indy in 2008.

“I know Dario (Franchitti, Target Chip Ganassi Racing team-mate) did the same, and his car looked pretty good in traffic, too. In the last 15 minutes of the day, we tried to trim the cars out. Nothing too crazy, but just to see where we stand. And surprisingly, it seemed pretty comfortable, pretty nice to drive and consistent. It gives a us a good benchmark to start tomorrow.”

Australian Ryan Briscoe was second on the timesheets on a day where the three Team Penske entries concentrated on race set-up.

His team-mates Will Power and Helio Castroneves were sixth and eighth respectively, with Castroneves still the owner of the fastest lap time of the month from his lap in Practice 2.

“We had a good, solid day,” said Briscoe.

“We were able to get quite a lot of work done on race setup-related items. The three Team Penske cars were able to take advantage of being a three-car operation, and we worked together on track today helping one another find speed and comfort. It really was a good day for the No. 6 car and for the whole team.”

Alex Tagliani was a standout, putting his FAZZT Race Team car in third place today. That team’s second car, slated for former Indy 500 polesitter Bruno Junqueira, is sitting idle at present as sponsorship details are finalised.

RESULTS: Indianapolis 500 – Practice 5

Pos No Driver Team Lap Speed
1. #9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing 226.971mph
2. #6 Ryan Briscoe Team Penske 226.633
3. #77 Alex Tagliani FAZZT Race Team 226.002
4. #06 Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas Racing 225.926
5. #10 Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing 225.850
6. #12 Will Power Team Penske 225.703
7. #11 Tony Kanaan Andretti Autosport 225.660
8. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 225.563
9. #99 Townsend Bell Sam Schmidt Motorsports 225.743
10. #32 Mario Moraes KV Racing Technology 224.740

Comments are closed.