Mark Webber takes Monaco pole position

Saturday 15th May, 2010 - 11:26pm


Mark Webber will start from pole in tomorrow's Monaco Grand Prix

Mark Webber will start from pole in tomorrow's Monaco Grand Prix

Red Bull Racing’s Mark Webber has taken pole position for the Monaco Grand Prix – his first pole at the glamorous street track and his second-consecutive F1 pole position.

In all of the practice sessions, only tenths of a second separated the leading drivers, but in qualifying, the Australian driver smashed his opposition, beating Renault’s Robert Kubica by nearly 0.3s.

Sebastian Vettel will start from third place – making it three Renault powered cars in the top three spots.

Ferrari’s Felipe Massa took fourth place, while his team-mate Fernando Alonso will start from pit lane after a heavy crash in Practice 3 ruled him out of the running. Due to the accident, Ferrari will have to build up a new chassis for him to compete.

Former F1 champ Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) will start fifth ahead of Mercedes pair Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher. Hamilton’s team-mate Jenson Button will line up eighth from Rubens Barrichello (Williams) and Vitantonio Luizzi (Force India).

The sixth round of the Formula One World Championship will start at 2pm (local Monaco time). Australian viewers can tune at 9.50pm on ONE HD for live race coverage.

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1. Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:15.035 1:14.462 1:13.826
2. Kubica Renault 1:15.045 1:14.549 1:14.120
3. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:15.110 1:14.568 1:14.227
4. Massa Ferrari 1:14.757 1:14.405 1:14.283
5. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.676 1:14.527 1:14.432
6. Rosberg Mercedes 1:15.188 1:14.375 1:14.544
7. Schumacher Mercedes 1:15.649 1:14.691 1:14.590
8. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:15.623 1:15.150 1:14.637
9. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:15.590 1:15.083 1:14.901
10. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:15.397 1:15:061 1:15.170
11. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:16.030 1:15.317
12. Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:15.445 1:15.318
13. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:15.961 1:15.413
14. Petrov Renault 1:15.482 1:15.576
15. de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1:15.908 1:15.692
16. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:16.175 1:15.992
17. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:16.021 1:16.176
18. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:17.094
19. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:17.134
20. Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:17.377
21. di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:17.864
22. Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:18.509
23. Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1:19.559
24. Alonso Ferrari No time comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!