James Courtney wins Race 11 at Winton

Saturday 15th May, 2010 - 4:54pm


James Courtney has won Race 11 of the V8 Supercars Championship Series

James Courtney has won Race 11 of the V8 Supercars Championship Series

V8 Supercars’ full-event Sprint tyre introduction has again produced a fascinating race, with James Courtney taking an exciting race win at Winton Motor Raceway today.

From pole-position, the Jim Beam Racing driver dropped to second behind the fast-starting Garth Tander at the beginning of the race, but when Tander encountered a slow pit stop, Courtney pounced and raced away to a big lead that could not be caught. It is Courtney’s third V8 race win in-a-row.

The only man who looked like threatening Courtney was TeamVodafone’s Craig Lowndes, who took second place after employing a later pit-stop strategy. He had speed to burn and raced from an effective 13th up to second.

Behind Courtney and Lowndes was their team-mates – championship leader Jamie Whincup and Steve Johnson.

Another of the late-stoppers, Shane van Gisbergen, raced up to fifth place ahead of Todd Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing), Jason Bright (Trading Post Racing), Michael Caruso (Fujitsu Racing), Tony D’Alberto (Centaur Racing) and Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu Racing).

Both Toll Holden Racing Team Commodores (Tander and Will Davison) looked like taking a top 10 place until they clashed on the penultimate lap while running ninth and 10th.

Mark Winterbottom and Jonathon Webb were also banging panels in the late stages which dropped the pair back down the order.

Supercheap Auto Racing’s Russell Ingall led most of the mid-section of the race, running the longest on his first set of tyres. He pitted late and rejoined right at the tail, but was able to race his way to an outstanding 11th place.

RESULTS: Race 11, V8 Supercars, Winton

1 18 James Courtney 40
2 888 Craig Lowndes 40
3 1 Jamie Whincup 40
4 17 Steven Johnson 40
5 9 Shane Van Gisbergen 40
6 7 Todd Kelly 40
7 14 Jason Bright 40
8 34 Michael Caruso 40
9 3 Tony D’Alberto 40
10 33 Lee Holdsworth 40
11 39 Russell Ingall 40
12 47 Tim Slade 40
13 51 Greg Murphy 40
14 6 Steven Richards 40
15 5 Mark Winterbottom 40
16 4 Alex Davison 40
17 2 Garth Tander 40
18 15 Rick Kelly 40
19 8 Jason Richards 40
20 24 Fabian Coulthard 40
21 21 Karl Reindler 40
22 22 Will Davison 40
23 11 Jason Bargwanna 40
24 12 Dean Fiore 40
25 30 Daniel Gaunt 40
26 19 Jonathon Webb 40
27 16 Tony Ricciardello 40
28 55 Paul Dumbrell 40
DNF 10 Andrew Thompson 1 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!