Webber takes thrilling Spanish pole

Saturday 8th May, 2010 - 11:23pm


Australian Mark Webber beat his team-mate to pole in Spain

Australian Mark Webber beat his team-mate to pole in Spain

Australian Mark Webber has taken his second pole position of the year, beating his Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel in a thrilling qualifying session at Barcelona, Spain.

In a close session, Webber grabbed the top spot by 0.106s over Vettel – and the rest of the field was a long way behind.

McLaren’s Lewis Hamilton will start the Spanish Grand Prix from third spot, over 0.8s behind the runaway Red Bull pair.

Local favourite Fernando Alonso took fourth place in his Ferarri ahread of championship leader Jenson Button (McLaren), Michael Schumacher (Mercedes), Robert Kubica (Renault), Nico Rosberg (Mercedes), Felipe Massa (Ferrari) and Japanese driver Kamui Kobayashi, who put his Sauber inside the top 10.

In fact, it was a great qualifying session for Sauber, with Kobayashi’s team-mate Pedro del la Rosa in 12th place – the team’s best combined qualifying result.

Force India was one of the disappointments of the first two sessions. Adrian Sutil and Vitantonio Luizzi both missing out on a chance in the top 10 session.

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1. Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:21.412 1:20.655 1:19.995
2. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:21.680 1:20.772 1:20.101
3. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:21.723 1:21.415 1:20.829
4. Alonso Ferrari 1:21.957 1:21.549 1:20.937
5. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:21.915 1:21.168 1:20.991
6. Schumacher Mercedes 1:22.528 1:21.557 1:21.294
7. Kubica Renault 1:22.488 1:21.599 1:21.353
8. Rosberg Mercedes 1:22.419 1:21.867 1:21.408
9. Massa Ferrari 1:22.564 1:21.841 1:21.585
10. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:22.577 1:21.725 1:21.984
11. Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:22.628 1:21.985
12. de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1:22.211 1:22.026
13. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:22.857 1:22.131
14. Petrov Renault 1:22.976 1:22.139
15. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:22.699 1:22.191
16. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:22.593 1:22.207
17. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:23.084 1:22.854
18. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:23.125
19. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:24.674
20. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:24.748
21. Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:25.475
22. di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:25.556
23. Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1:26.750
24. Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:27.122 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!