Whincup’s pain is Courtney’s Ipswich gain

Sunday 2nd May, 2010 - 2:51pm


James Courtney won both Queensland Raceway events

James Courtney won both Queensland Raceway events

Jamie Whincup’s stranglehold on the V8 Supercars Championship Series is over after James Courtney’s dominating race wins at Queensland Raceway this weekend.

Courtney won Race 10 of the V8 Series today and significantly reduced the gap to series leader and today’s  pole-sitter Jamie Whincup, who failed to finish the 65-lap race.

Courtney’s win comes after his victory in yesterday’s race and now trails Whincup by just 24 points after engine problems plagued TeamVodafone’s Whincup.

The win for the Dick Johnson Racing team has also elevated the famous Queensland team ahead of TeamVodafone in the Team’s Championship for the first time this year.

Toll Holden Racing Team’s Garth Tander finished second behind Courtney after coming from eighth on the grid.

Shane van Gisbergen grabbed his fourth podium finish for the year with third position.

Van Gisbergen pulled a late move on Supercheap Auto’s Russell Ingall to take the final podium place.

Ingall finished fourth ahead of Craig Lowndes (TeamVodafone), Michael Caruso (Fujitsu), Rick Kelly (Jack Daniel’s), Steve Johnson (Jim Beam), Steve Richards (Dunlop Super Dealer FPR) and Tony D’Alberto (Centaur).

Orrcon Steel FPR driver Mark Winterbottom was eliminated from the action on the opening lap when he collided with Lee Holdsworth (Fujitsu). comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!