Briscoe scores pole in Kansas

Aussie ace Ryan Briscoe celebrates pole in Kansas

Aussie ace Ryan Briscoe celebrates pole in Kansas

Aussie Ryan Briscoe has scored his first pole of the season in the first oval event of the 2010 IZOD IndyCar Series at Kansas Speedway today.

Briscoe scored pole ahead of Kiwi Scott Dixon and last year’s champion Dario Franchitti.

“It’s great to win the pole,” said Briscoe.

“Team Penske has picked up from where it left off at Homestead last year. That’s a good sign.

“Hopefully it’s a sign of speed to come at Indy, as well.”

Two drivers who beat the bigger and more established teams were Hideki Mutoh (Newman/Haas Racing) and Canadian Alex Tagliani (FAZZT Race Team).

Series leader Will Power qualified in seventh place.

RESULTS: IZOD IndyCar Series Qualifying – Kansas Speedway

Pos No Driver Team Speed (mph)
1. #6 Ryan Briscoe Team Penske 212.145
2. #9 Scott Dixon Target Chip Ganassi Racing 211.298
3. #10 Dario Franchitti Target Chip Ganassi Racing 211.235
4. #06 Hideki Mutoh Newman/Haas Racing 211.236
5. #77 Alex Tagliani FAZZT Race Team 210.887
6. #14 Vitor Meira AJ Foyt Enterprises 210.675
7. #12 Will Power Verizon Team Penske 210.672
8. #3 Helio Castroneves Team Penske 210.467
9. #7 Danica Patrick Andretti Autosport 210.429
10. #24 Mike Conway Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 210.336

Comments are closed.