Reid gets late V8 practice call-up at QR

Jonny Reid drove Todd Kelly's car in the first practice session at Queensland Raceway today

Jonny Reid drove Todd Kelly's car in the first practice session at Queensland Raceway today

Jonny Reid has secured a last-minute drive in Todd Kelly’s #7 Jack Daniel’s Racing Commodore VE in this morning’s rookie and endurance drive practice session at Queensland Raceway.

The first two sessions today allows rookie or endurance drivers to drive in the V8 Supercars Championship Series cars. Regular drivers sitting inside the top 15 in the championship are not permitted to drive in the first two sessions.

The rookie and endurance driver session will also be held at Winton Motor Raceway in two weeks time.

Reid has not been confirmed as a Kelly Racing of Jack Daniel’s Racing endurance driver yet, although this morning’s session points towards a possible future with the team.

“This is definitely a step in the right direction and it’s exciting,” Reid said before the first session.

“They are great cars, so I’m looking forward to go out there and have a small taste before they go out there and get into the weekend.

“My brief is quite clear – stay on the black stuff and look after the car! Todd’s got a long weekend ahead to move forward in his championship fight. It’s just about gaining experience in the car – it will be the first time that I’ve driven the car, and it’s a good step in the right direction for the endurance races.”

Other drivers getting laps in the session include Mark Skaife and Steve Owen (TeamVodafone), Cameron McConville and David Reynolds (Toll Holden Racing Team), Shane Price (Centaur Racing), Luke Youlden and James Moffat (Ford Performance Racing), Andrew Jones (Team BOC), John McIntyre (SP Tools Racing), Nick Percat and Craig Baird (Bundaberg Red Racing), Michael Patrizi (Triple F Racing), Marcus Marshall and Warren Luff (Jim Beam Racing), David Russell (Dick Johnson Racing), Mark Noske (Gulf Western Oil Racing), David Besnard and Greg Ritter (Fujitsu Racing/GRM), Paul Morris (Supercheap Auto Racing), Owen Kelly (Jack Daniel’s Racing) and Dean Canto (The Bottle-O Racing Team).

As published this story, the first session ended and SBR’s McIntyre was the fastest. The second 30 minute session will be held at 12.40pm.

Comments are closed.