Webber scores dramatic Malaysian pole

Saturday 3rd April, 2010 - 7:46pm


Red Bull Racing's Mark Webber will start from pole in Malaysia

Red Bull Racing's Mark Webber will start from pole in Malaysia

Mark Webber has qualified on pole position for tomorrow’s Malaysian Grand Prix at Sepang.

The Australian continued Red Bull’s unbeaten pole run with a gamble on intermediate tyres in the rain-interrupted session.

The pole is Webber’s second career pole (his other coming in Germany last year).

Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg scored his best qualifying result of the season with second place ahead of Webber’s Red Bull team-mate Sebastian Vettel.

Force India’s Adrian Sutil took a career-best fourth, while his Italian team-mate Vitantonio Liuzzi is 10th.

Rookie German Nico Hulkenberg showed great pace in the Williams, out-qualifying his experienced team-mate Rubens Barrichello (who’ll line up seventh).

While Red Bull continued its reign up the front, there was disaster for both the McLarens and Ferraris, who were caught knapping by the weather. All four of their cars will start outside the top 16.

With some of the fast guys down the back, it allowed some of the new teams to shine. Heikki Kovalainen was the best of them in his Lotus and he’ll start 15th.

1 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 1:51.886 1:48.210 1:49.327
2 Nico Rosberg Mercedes GP 1:52.560 1:47.417 1:50.673
3 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 1:47.632 1:46.828 1:50.789
4 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:49.479 1:47.085 1:50.914
5 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:49.664 1:47.346 1:51.001
6 Robert Kubica Renault 1:46.283 1:46.951 1:51.051
7 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:50.301 1:48.371 1:51.511
8 Michael Schumacher Mercedes GP 1:52.239 1:48.400 1:51.717
9 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1:48.467 1:47.792 1:51.767
10 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:49.922 1:48.238 1:52.254
11 Vitaly Petrov Renault 1:47.952 1:48.760
12 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 1:47.153 1:48.771
13 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 1:48.945 1:49.207
14 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 1:48.655 1:49.464
15 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:52.875 1:52.270
16 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:52.398 1:52.520
17 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:52.211 no time
18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:52.884
19 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 1:53.044
20 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:53.050
21 Felipe Massa Ferrari 1:53.283
22 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1:56.299
23 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:57.269
24 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:59.977 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!