Red Bull Racing locks out AGP front-row

Saturday 27th March, 2010 - 5:46pm


Sebastian Vettel will start from pole for tomorrow's Australian Grand Prix

Sebastian Vettel will start from pole for tomorrow's Australian Grand Prix

Red Bull Racing has dominated qualifying for tomorrow’s Formula One Qantas Australian Grand Prix, with Sebastian Vettel and Mark Webber locking out the front row at Albert Park today.

Vettel finished the session less than a tenth of a second ahead of Webber, with Ferrari’s Fernando Alonso a close third place.

McLaren had an indifferent qualifying session, with Jenson Button taking fourth place, while Lewis Hamilton will start from 11th – a shock ommision from the top 10. Hamilton said after the session that he was “surprised” with the (lack of) performance from his McLaren Mercedes.

Alonso’s Ferrari team-mate will Felipe Massa will start fifth ahead of the Mercedes GP pair of Nico Rosberg and Michael Schumacher, who will line-up sixth and seventh respectively. Rosberg rued a mistake on his quick time that he says cost him a few tenths of a second.

Williams’ new driver Rubens Barrichello improved on his Bahrain form with eighth from Robert Kubica (Renault) and Adrian Sutil (Force India).

Tomorrow’s AGP starts at 5pm.

Qualifying; Round 2; Formula One Qantas Australian Grand Prix

Pos Driver Team Q1 Q2 Q3
1. Vettel Red Bull-Renault 1:24.774 1:24.096 1:23.919
2. Webber Red Bull-Renault 1:25.286 1:24.276 1:24.035
3. Alonso Ferrari 1:25.082 1:24.335 1:24.111
4. Button McLaren-Mercedes 1:24.897 1:24.531 1:24.675
5. Massa Ferrari 1:25.548 1:25.010 1:24.837
6. Rosberg Mercedes 1:24.788 1:24.788 1:24.884
7. Schumacher Mercedes 1:25.351 1:24.871 1:24.927
8. Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 1:25.702 1:25.085 1:25.217
9. Kubica Renault 1:25.588 1:25.122 1:25.372
10. Sutil Force India-Mercedes 1:25.504 1:25.046 1:26.036
11. Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 1:25.046 1:25.184
12. Buemi Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:26.061 1:25.638
13. Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 1:26.170 1:25.743
14. de la Rosa Sauber-Ferrari 1:26.089 1:25.747
15. Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 1:25.866 1:25.748
16. Kobayashi Sauber-Ferrari 1:26.251 1:25.777
17. Alguersuari Toro Rosso-Ferrari 1:26.095 1:26.089
18. Petrov Renault 1:26.471
19. Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 1:28.797
20. Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 1:29.111
21. Glock Virgin-Cosworth 1:29.592
22. di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 1:30.185
23. Senna HRT-Cosworth 1:30.526
24. Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1:30.613 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!