Fernando Alonso’s dream Ferrari debut

Monday 15th March, 2010 - 10:35am


Fernando Alonso celebrates on the Bahrain podium

Fernando Alonso celebrates on the Bahrain podium

Fernando Alonso and Ferrari have got their driver/team relationship off to the perfect start, winning the opening round of the 2010 Formula 1 World Championship at Bahrain.

The Spaniard led home team-mate Felipe Massa to a comfortable one-two result – the first Ferrari quinella since 2006.

Pole-sitter and early race leader Sebastian Vettel was hampered by an exhaust problem, costing him speed and ultimately victory. He dropped down to fourth by race’s end.

Lewis Hamilton was the last driver to get past the fast Red Bull, claiming a first-up podium for 2010.

Hamilton actually ran in fifth in the opening stanza of the race behind Mercedes driver Nico Rosberg but jumped him in the pit stops.

The Mercedes duo of Rosberg and Michael Schumacher eventually finished fifth and sixth ahead of reigning world champ Jenson Button (McLaren) while Australian driver Mark Webber.

Webber qualified sixth and had a trouble-free race, running in close to the Mercedes and McLarens ahead. The only cause of concern for his team were the two huge clouds of white smoke that pumped out of his Red Bull at the first two corner.

Ninth place went to Tonio Luizzi (Force India) from Rubens Barrichello (Williams).

Out-of-luck rookies Vitaly Petrov and Nico Hulkenberg had difficult debuts. Hulkenberg spun his Williams in the fast downhill corners on the new section of circuit, while Petrov pitted with a suspension problem.

Of the new teams, Lotus got both cars to the flag, with Heikki Kovalainen and Jarno Trulli 15th and 16th. Both of the Virgin entries suffered mechanical problems, while HRT’s Karun Chandhok crashed on lap two and team-mate Bruno Senna had a mechanical failure.

Pos No Driver Team Laps Grid Pts
1 8 Fernando Alonso Ferrari 49 3 25
2 7 Felipe Massa Ferrari 49 2 18
3 2 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes 49 4 15
4 5 Sebastian Vettel RBR-Renault 49 1 12
5 4 Nico Rosberg Mercedes Benz GP Ltd 49 5 10
6 3 Michael Schumacher Mercedes Benz GP Ltd 49 7 8
7 1 Jenson Button McLaren-Mercedes 49 8 6
8 6 Mark Webber RBR-Renault 49 6 4
9 15 Vitantonio Liuzzi Force India-Mercedes 49 12 2
10 9 Rubens Barrichello Williams-Cosworth 49 11 1
11 11 Robert Kubica Renault 49 9
12 14 Adrian Sutil Force India-Mercedes 49 10
13 17 Jaime Alguersuari STR-Ferrari 49 18
14 10 Nico Hulkenberg Williams-Cosworth 48 13
15 19 Heikki Kovalainen Lotus-Cosworth 47 21
16 16 Sebastien Buemi STR-Ferrari 46 15
17 18 Jarno Trulli Lotus-Cosworth 46 20
Ret 22 Pedro de la Rosa BMW Sauber-Ferrari 28 14
Ret 21 Bruno Senna HRT-Cosworth 17 23
Ret 24 Timo Glock Virgin-Cosworth 16 19
Ret 12 Vitaly Petrov Renault 13 17
Ret 23 Kamui Kobayashi BMW Sauber-Ferrari 11 16
Ret 25 Lucas di Grassi Virgin-Cosworth 2 22
Ret 20 Karun Chandhok HRT-Cosworth 1 24 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!