Whincup claims pole position for Race 3

Friday 26th February, 2010 - 8:06pm


Jamie Whincup scorched to pole position for Race 3

Jamie Whincup scorched to pole position for Race 3

Team Vodafone’s Jamie Whincup has got his weekend off to the perfect start, scoring pole for Race 3 at the Gulf Air Desert 400 at the Bahrain International Circuit.

The back-to-back V8 Supercars Champion edged out SP Tool’s Shane van Gisbergen in a close session to claim his 14th career pole, eventually beating ‘Van Giz’ by over 02.s. Van Gisbergen admitted to making an error at the last turn, costing him valuable time.

After a mild sand storm before qualifying, Whincup said that between the two sessions, the track conditions shifted dramatically.

“The track changed massively from qualifying to the shootout,” he said.

“Once we saw the first guys go out and beat their time by half a second, it looked like the track was grippy, but we didn’t quite know if they’d just improved their cars.

“When I saw Mark (Winterbottom) do a 2:04.8s, I thought that was right up there. It puts a bit of pressure on you as a driver to have to go out there and go three or fourth tenths than I did in qualifying, but my lap was great. I saw on the dash that I was making good time.”

Orrcon Steel Ford Performance Racing’s Winterbottom will line-up third, with Toll HRT’s Garth Tander alongside him.

Winterbottom’s team-mate Steve Richards had a moment at turn one but recovered for seventh place, while Craig Lowndes endured a very animated lap, ending the session in eighth.

Paul Morris Motorsport duo Greg Murphy )Castrol) and Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto) will start from ninth and 10th respectively.

The biggest loser in the pack compared to yesterday’s practice was Trading Post Racing’s Jason Bright, who will line-up 24th after being seventh at the end of yesterday’s session.

Jack Daniel’s Racing’s Todd Kelly also slipped down from third to 18th, complaining of a lack of grip.

Race 3 of the V8 Supercars Championship Series kicks off at 3.35pm.

1 1 Jamie Whincup 2:05.1657R
2 888 Craig Lowndes 2:05.4957
3 2 Garth Tander 2:05.5089
4 9 Shane Van Gisbergen 2:05.6061
5 51 Greg Murphy 2:05.6877
6 39 Russell Ingall 2:05.7791
7 18 James Courtney 2:05.7921
8 5 Mark Winterbottom 2:05.8189
9 6 Steven Richards 2:05.9267
10 22 Will Davison 2:06.0064
11 33 Lee Holdsworth 2:06.0154
12 4 Alex Davison 2:06.0384
13 15 Rick Kelly 2:06.1876
14 19 Jonathon Webb 2:06.1908
15 34 Michael Caruso 2:06.2695
16 17 Steven Johnson 2:06.3372
17 24 Fabian Coulthard 2:06.3953
18 7 Todd Kelly 2:06.5219
19 47 Tim Slade 2:06.5954
20 55 Paul Dumbrell 2:06.8854
21 10 Andrew Thompson 2:06.9030
22 8 Jason Richards 2:06.9633
23 11 Jason Bargwanna 2:07.1000
24 14 Jason Bright 2:07.3799
25 3 Tony D’Alberto 2:07.4578
26 12 Dean Fiore 2:07.5896
27 30 Daniel Gaunt 2:07.9573
28 21 Karl Reindler 2:07.9751
29 16 Tony Ricciardello 2:08.4635
1 1 Jamie Whincup 2:04.5189R
2 9 Shane Van Gisbergen 2:04.7601r
3 5 Mark Winterbottom 2:04.8245r
4 2 Garth Tander 2:05.1780
5 18 James Courtney 2:05.2142
6 22 Will Davison 2:05.4901
7 6 Steven Richards 2:05.5247
8 888 Craig Lowndes 2:05.5945
9 51 Greg Murphy 2:06.2238 comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!