Briscoe tops IndyCar testing at Barber

Ryan Briscoe drives his new-look #6 Penske IndyCar in testing at Barber Motorsports Park

Ryan Briscoe drives his new-look #6 Penske IndyCar in testing at Barber Motorsports Park

Australian Ryan Briscoe has led a Penske domination of the opening day of the official IZOD IndyCar Series pre-season test at Barber Motorsports Park in Alabama.

Briscoe led a Penske 1-2-4 at the road course venue, with Helio Castroneves second and fellow Aussie Will Power fourth in his Verizon-backed entry.

The only driver to break the Penske domination was new Dreyer & Reinbold Racing recruit Justin Wilson, who was third fastest in his Z-Line designs machine.

Target Chip Ganassi Racing made a steady start to the season, with Scott Dixon fifth fastest and 2009 champ Dario Franchitti down in ninth place.

Fresh from her recent NASCAR Nationwide Series races, Danica Patrick was down in 18th position of the 20 cars present.

The test comes after a flurry of last-minute deals and announcements in the IndyCar Series paddock.

Hideki Mutoh has signed on as the lone driver at Newman-Haas-Lanigan Racing, with Graham Rahal set to miss the season opener following McDonalds decision not to renew its sponsorship of the team.

Conquest Racing returns to the fold with Brazilian Mario Romancini as its driver, while EJ Viso joins Takuma Sato at KV Racing Technology, with young Brit James Rossiter a possibility for a third KV entry.

Gil de Ferren has merged his team with Luzco Dragon Racing to create de Ferren Luzco Dragon Racing, fielding Raphael Matos and second car part-time for Davey Hamilton

FAZZT team of Alex Tagliani and Dale Coyne Racing have both opted to sit out pre-season testing. Full times from Day One below.

Pos No Driver Team Time Laps
1. #6 Briscoe, Ryan Team Penske 1:10.5052 66
2. #3 Castroneves, Helio Team Penske 1:10.7146 61
3. #22 Wilson, Justin Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:10.7397 35
4. #12 Power, Will Team Penske 1:10.7637 49
5. #9 Dixon, Scott Target Chip Ganasi Racing 1:10.8927 52
6. #8 Viso, EJ KV Racing Technology 1:10.9186 60
7. #5 Sato, Takuma (R) KV Racing Technology 1:11.1138 70
8. #11 Kanaan, Tony Andretti Autosport 1:11.1433 46
9. #10 Franchitti, Dario Target Chip Ganasi Racing 1:11.1825 36
10. #06 Mutoh, Hideki Newman-Haas-Lanigan Racing 1:11.2212 67
11. #26 Andretti, Marco Andretti Autosport 1:11.3557 51
12. #34 Romancini, Mario (R) Conquest Racing 1:11.4567 70
13. #32 Rossiter, James (R) KV Racing Technology 1:11.7759 40
14. #14 Meira, Vitor AJ Foty Enterprises 1:11.9171 48
15. #2 Matos, Raphael de Ferren Luzco Dragon Racing 1:11.9924 41
16. #37 Hunter-Reay, Ryan Andretti Autosport 1:12.1369 38
17. #24 Conway, Mike Dreyer & REinbold Racing 1:12.1543 48
18. #7 Patrick, Danica Andretti Autosport 1:12.5369 36
19. #78 de Silvestro, Simona (R) Dreyer & Reinbold Racing 1:12.8124 48
20. #67 Fisher, Sarah Sarah Fisher Racing 1:16.0138 63

Comments are closed.