BMW defeats EVOs in Bathurst 12 Hour

Paul Morris, John Bowe and Garry Holt won this weekend's Bathurst 12 Hour

Paul Morris, John Bowe and Garry Holt won this weekend's Bathurst 12 Hour

Paul Morris has survived a last-minute drama to steer the Eastern Creek International Karting BMW 335i to a second victory in the Armor All Bathurst 12 Hour race at Mount Panorama today.

Morris, sharing the car with owner Gary Holt and John Bowe, crossed the line behind the Safety Car at 6.30pm after 202 laps and 1254.4km.

It is Holt and Morris’s second win in the Bathurst 12 Hour, having won the race in 2007.

Only at Bathurst ... a tree fel onto the track just past the half-race distance

Only at Bathurst ... a tree fel onto the track just past the half-race distance

But in unpredictable Bathurst tradition, the competitors were denied a proper sprint finish when the Holden Commodore of Rod Wilson stopped on the track with 11 minutes remaining.

Morris’s victory margin over the second-placed Easts Holiday Parks Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 9 of David Wall, his father Des and Trevor Symonds was 3.3 seconds.

Glenn Seton brought home Bob Pearson’s Pro-Duct Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10 in third. The entry was co-driven by Neil Crompton and Mark King.

Fourth place went to the Holden R8 Sportwagon of Cameron McConville, Andrew Jones and Nathan Pretty.

Peter Conroy, Anthony Robson and Mark Brame steered their Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10 to fifth place in the Hankook Competition Australia car.

Reigning Champions Damien White and Rod Salmon were ruled out of the race when a split exhaust pipe ended their hopes of a hat-trick.

The Peter Hill/Tim Leahey/Eric Bana Globe/Westrac Mitsubishi Lancer Evo 10 ran in fifth place with only a few hours remaining until the car stopped and slammed into by the Subaru Impreza driven by rally champion Dean Herridge.

And in something a track that only Bathurst could produce, the race was stopped just before 12.50pm when a large gum tree fell onto the race circuit at the exit of Forrest’s Elbow at the top of Conrod straight.

No cars or drivers were affected by the incident, as the field was under Safety Car conditions due to the bad weather.

The majority of the field was stuck at the top of the mountain while SES crews worked quickly to remove the tree from the race track.

Pos Car Drivers Entrant Vehicle Cl Laps Fastest Lap


20 G.Holt/P.Morris/J.Bowe Eastern Creek International Ka BMW 335i B 202 2:31.4736 74


38 D.Wall/D.Wall/T.Symonds East Holiday Parks Mitsubishi Evo 9 GSR A 202 2:31.5345 55


35 N.Crompton/G.Seton/M.King Pro-Duct Mitsubishi Evo X RS A 201 2:31.6100 69


85 N.Pretty/C.McConville/A.Jones Menray Race Engineering Holden R8 Clubsport B 201 2:34.8274 54


7 P.Conroy/A.Robson/M.Brame Hankook Competition Australia Mitsubishi Evo X RS A 197 2:36.7478 29


10 K.Douglas/J.Moffat/R.Hislop Boylan Traffic Solutions Ford FPV FG F6 B 196 2:36.0153 192


4 J.Pollicina/J.O’Dowd/S.Middleton Greg Murphy Racing Mitsubishi Evo 8 RS A 195 2:36.8958 61


2 L.Castle/K.Wimmer/D.Wood WBR – Wilson Brothers Racing Subaru WRX Impreza A 195 2:35.7376 58


31 T.Keene/H.Morrall Osborne Motorsport Mazda 3 MPS C 195 2:42.7419 55


96 J.Koundouris/T.Koundouris/S.Owen Supabarn Supermarkets Mitsubishi Evo X RS A 194 2:32.1166 24

Comments are closed.