Familiar faces in Bathurst 12 Hour

Monday 8th February, 2010 - 5:05am


The start of last year's Bathurst 12 Hour

The start of last year's Bathurst 12 Hour

Andrew Jones has replaced Russell Ingall in Holden’s factory-supported entry in next weekend’s Armor All Bathurst 12 Hour.

Jones, the 2004 Fujitsu V8 Series Champion, will share the Holden Sportwagon R8 with Cameron McConville and Nathan Pretty.

The V8 Ute that will make its world-racing debut at the Armor All Bathurst 12 Hour next weekend

The V8 Ute that will make its world-racing debut at the Armor All Bathurst 12 Hour next weekend

Ingall was first pencilled in to drive the car, however, due to the close nature of the opening round of the V8 Supercar Championship Series in the Middle East, Jones will step into the hot Holden.

Jones was entered in the car last year (competing in Class B) but it retired early in the race.

While the Sportwagon entry contains one of the most experienced Bathurst line-ups in the ‘once around the clock’ event, there are a lot of competitive outfits in this year’s 45 car field, including some familiar faces.

In Class A, two cars to watch out for is Bob Pearson’s two-car Pro Duct team. The team will field Mitsubishi Evo X RSs for Pearson, Jason Bargwanna and Steve Glenney in the #33 car, and Glenn Seton, Neil Crompton and Mark King in the #34 car.

Another strong Evo X RS will be for Peter Hill, Tim Leahey and movie star Eric Bana.

In Class B, Ford Performance Racing driver James Moffat will pair with Ken Douglas and Ray Hislop in a Ford FPV FG F6, although the BMW 335i of Paul Morris, Garry Holt and John Bowe will be hard to beat.

The sister car to the Holt BMW features a mixed line-up of youth and experience. Car owner Barry Morcom will partner with West Aussie Paul Stubber and junior open-wheel aces Daniel Erickson and Nathan Morcom.

The Class G battle of V8 Utes will see a classic Ford versus Holden battle. Two Ford entries will be there, including the world-racing debut of the Ford FG Ute. Prepared by the Sieders Racing Team, the FG will be driven by Ben Dunn, Andrew Fisher and Brad Patton. In the other BF Ford, Greg Willis, Jason Gomersall and Matt Mackelden will take on the Holden VE of Grant Johnson, Nathan Callaghan and Alan Letcher.

And while Marcus Zukanovic’s Ford Mustang Shelby might take might of the limelight in the Invitational class, watch out for Rockstar Racing’s Josh Hunt and Paul Stokell in their Nissan 350Z.

Practice kicks off this Friday, with qualifying on Saturday and racing getting underway on Sunday morning 5.30am. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!