Champions crowned, legends honoured

Monday 7th December, 2009 - 5:52pm


Will Davison won the Barry Sheene Medal, and helped car #22 be the 'Most Improved' of 2009

Will Davison won the Barry Sheene Medal, and helped car #22 be the 'Most Improved' of 2009

V8 Supercar’s ‘Night of Nights’ – the Gala Dinner – has seen champions crowned and legends honoured in Sydney tonight.

While Jamie Whincup was presented his overall championship trophy, Toll Holden Racing Team’s Will Davison picked up the night’s big gong, voted the Barry Sheene Medalist for the best and fairest driver in the sport.

Davison, who finished second to Champion Jamie Whincup in this year’s Series, was overwhelmingly voted the winner by the media.

The award recognises sportsmanship and the manner in which drivers conduct themselves throughout the season.

Other winners included young Fujitsu V8 Supercar Series driver James Moffat, son of the great Allan Moffat, who was awarded the Mike Kable Young Gun Award for the best rookie in V8 Supercars.

The Dunlop Townsville 400 was awarded Event of The Year. Hamilton 400 volunteers were given the Best Volunteer Group award, while New Limited’s James Phelps took out the V8 Supercar Media Award.

Ford took the manufacturers title while Toll Holden Racing Team was the Champion Team of the Year.

Former great John Bowe was inducted into the Hall of Fame (see separate story).

The full list of winners:

Armor All Pole Position Award: Jamie Whincup – TeamVodafone
Armor All Best Presented Team: Jim Beam Racing
Privateers Cup Champion: Jonathon Webb – MW Motorsport
V8 Supercar Media Award: James Phelps – News Limited
Fujitsu Champion: Jonathon Webb – MW Motorsport
Mike Kable Young Gun: James Moffat – Sonic Motor Racing Services
Most Improved Award: Car 22 – Toll Holden Racing Team
Hall of Fame Inductee: John Bowe
Best Volunteer Group: ITM Hamilton 400
Event of the Year: Dunlop Townsville 400
Champion Manufacturer of the Year: Ford
Champion Team of the Year: Toll Holden Racing Team
Bathurst Champions: Will Davison and Garth Tander – Toll Holden Racing Team
Barry Sheene Medal: Will Davison – Toll Holden Racing Team
Third Place: Garth Tander – Toll Holden Racing Team
Second Place: Will Davison – Toll Holden Racing Team
2009 Champion: Jamie Whincup – Team Vodafone comment policy reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic. Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!