Lowndes grabs first pole of 2009

Saturday 21st November, 2009 - 1:11pm


Craig Lowndes has taken pole for the 23rd race of the V8 Supercar Championship Series at West Australia’s Barbagallo Raceway, today.

The TeamVodafone driver finished on top of the time sheets after the top 10 shootout, setting a time of 57.18s around the 2.4km circuit.

Lowndes’ lap was good enough to ward off his team-mate and weekend fast man Jamie Whincup.

The pole position was Lowndes’ 23rd career pole and the first for the 2009 season.

Third on the grid is Jim Beam Racing’s Steven Johnson from Toll HRT’s Will Davison and jack Daniel’s Racing’s Todd Kelly.

Orrcon Steel FPR driver Mark Winterbottom is sixth from Lee Holdsworth (Valvoline), Garth Tander (Toll HRT), Russell Ingall (Supercheap Auto) and James Courtney (Jim Beam).

Race 23 starts at 1.05pm AWST. comment policy

Comments require approval before being published. reserves the right to deny any post that is abusive or offtopic.

Users are encouraged to flag/report comments which should be removed.

Some comments may require approval before being published which can take up to 48 hours.

For support, please contact [email protected]

Comments are closed. has been established to provide a daily motorsport news service to the industry and fans in Australia and internationally.

Read the promise

Subscribe to our daily newsletter, the best way to get your news first, fast, and free!