Whincup strikes back in Phillip Island finale

  • Sunday 24th November, 2013 5:33pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Jamie Whincup celebrates victory

Jamie Whincup celebrates victory

Jamie Whincup will head into next month’s V8 Supercars title decider with a 20 point lead over Craig Lowndes after taking victory in Race 34 at Phillip Island.

Just as Lowndes had done in the afternoon’s earlier heat, Whincup set up his win with unbeatable early pace.

The Red Bull Holden moved from fifth on the grid to the lead in the space of just two laps, scything by Fabian Coulthard, Jason Bright, Mark Winterbottom and Lowndes in quick succession.

Lowndes struggled for rear grip in the early stages, dropping to third behind Winterbottom on Lap 3.

The order remained stagnant until the flag, despite two Safety Car interventions for mid-race incidents.

The first came after Lee Holdsworth’s Mercedes stopped at Lukey Heights with its left-front wheel missing.

The errant wheel shot over the fence and spectators before bouncing clear of harm’s way.

The restart lap provided yet more action, with a tag from David Reynolds spinning Chaz Mostert at the Turn 4 hairpin. Russell Ingall was also caught up in the melee.

Bright and Coulthard were best-of-the-rest behind the title contenders at the flag, while Will Davison, James Moffat, Rick Kelly, Alex Davison and Shane van Gisbergen completed the top 10.

Whincup’s win stretches his lead from six points to 20 over Lowndes, while Winterbottom is 105 points further adrift in third.

Will Davison is also in mathematical title contention sitting 223 points down with 300 available in Sydney.

See below for the full Race 34 result

1Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF2342:22.90
2Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG2342:23.78
3Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF2342:24.30
4Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF2342:24.79
5Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF2342:25.75
6Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG2342:27.58
7Norton HornetsJames MoffatNissan Altima2342:30.44
8Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima2342:31.46
9Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG2342:32.85
10TEKNO Team VIP PetfoodsShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF2342:33.06
11Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF2342:33.68
12The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG2342:34.22
13Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima2342:34.66
14Lucas Dumbrell MotorsportScott PyeHolden Commodore VF2342:35.12
15Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF2342:35.72
16Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG2342:35.94
17Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF2342:36.63
18Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF2342:37.84
19SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG2342:39.21
20Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG2342:50.75
DNFNorton HornetsMichael CarusoNissan Altima2139:23.99
DNFWilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG1426:07.31
DNFSupercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF1426:10.70
DNFTEKNO Team Darrell LeaJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF1221:24.72
DNFTeam HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF1140:41.16
DNFIrwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG 914:21.48

 See below for the updated points standings (Top 28) 

1Jamie Whincup2815
2Craig Lowndes2795
3Mark Winterbottom2691
4Will Davison2592
5Fabian Coulthard2393
6Garth Tander2259
7Shane Van Gisbergen2254
8Jason Bright2123
9James Courtney1909
10David Reynolds1866
11Scott McLaughlin1865
12Jonathon Webb1727
13Alex Davison1653
14Rick Kelly1619
15Russell Ingall1439
16James Moffat1403
17Chaz Mostert1394
18Tony D’Alberto1361
19Lee Holdsworth1259
20Alexandre Premat1253
21David Wall1250
22Tim Slade1136
23Dean Fiore1115
24Michael Caruso1089
25Tim Blanchard1080
26Scott Pye1049
27Todd Kelly1007
28Maro Engel893

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com