Lowndes defeats Whincup in Race 33

Sunday 24th November, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

The Race 33 podium

The Race 33 podium

Craig Lowndes drove from eighth on the grid to beat team-mate Jamie Whincup to victory in Race 33 at Phillip Island.

The result moves Lowndes to within six points of Whincup in the championship standings with just three races remaining.

Whincup had led by six seconds at the halfway mark, but lost his advantage when Michael Caruso’s Nissan expired, triggering a Safety Car.

Lowndes had superior speed upon the restart, taking the lead with an inside move into the Turn 4 hairpin just a lap after the green flags flew.

The veteran had earlier moved from eighth to third at the first corner, which had seen pole-sitter Coulthard, Mark Winterbottom, Whincup, Chaz Mostert and Shane van Gisbergen all involved in a squeze at the front.

Whincup escaped with the lead from Mostert, who was then involved in a second lap scuffle with Lowndes that saw Van Gisbergen through to second and Lowndes back to fifth.

The Red Bull driver took just 10 laps to methodically move his way by Coulthard, Mostert and Van Gisbergen, with the last of the three moves occurring moments prior to the full-course yellow.

Van Gisbergen held off Mostert to the flag despite struggling for late speed, while Coulthard, Alex Davison, Winterbottom, Will Davison, David Reynolds and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

Winterbottom had fared worst from the tight first corner; bumped back to seventh and unable to recover.

His Ford Performance Racing team-mate Will Davison moved in the opposite direction, picking his way from 13th on the grid to eighth.

Tony D’Alberto joined Caruso on the retirements list after also falling foul of mechanical issues.

A second 100km race will conclude the Sargent Security Phillip Island 360 later today.

See below for the Race 33 result

1Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF2338:02.55
2Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF2338:03.55
3TEKNO Team VIP PetfoodsShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF2338:08.18
4Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG2338:08.54
5Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF2338:09.07
6Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG2338:09.25
7Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG2338:09.80
8Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG2338:10.03
9The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG2338:12.15
10Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF2338:12.33
11Lucas Dumbrell MotorsportScott PyeHolden Commodore VF2338:13.33
12Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG2338:13.62
13Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima2338:14.08
14Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF2338:14.47
15Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF2338:16.35
16Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima2338:16.79
17Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG2338:17.20
18TEKNO Team Darrell LeaJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF2338:17.50
19Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF2338:17.75
20Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF2338:18.20
21Norton HornetsJames MoffatNissan Altima2338:19.22
22SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG2338:20.70
23Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF2338:24.39
24Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG2339:05.00
DNFTeam HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF1627:37.14
DNFNorton HornetsMichael CarusoNissan Altima1219:01.57


Comments are closed.