Baird seals remarkable fifth Carrera Cup crown

Sunday 27th October, 2013


Author: SpeedCafe ©

Craig Baird wins fifth Carrera Cup title

Craig Baird wins fifth Carrera Cup title

Porsche star Craig Baird secured a world record-equalling fifth Carrera Cup Championship on the streets of Surfers Paradise.

As Steven Richards (Laser) prevented Nick Percat (Coates Hire) from a clean sweep by winning Race 3, Baird had a lonely but untroubled race to finish fifth and seal the crown in the third and final race.

The only other Carrera Cup Championship to be won by a driver five times was in France with Dominique Dupuy successful in 1992-1993, 1997, 1998 and 1999.

Baird, recognised as the most successful exponent of the one-make series in the world, kept out of trouble after receiving a grid penalty earlier in the weekend for not returning to parc ferme as he was required to rush to the V8 paddock due to the tight schedule in between events.

The Kiwi expat’s title came as he tackled his 50th Carrera Cup round.

He finished the season with 972.5 points ahead of Percat (937), with Warren Luff (883) third.

“I really pushed hard at the beginning of the season and got some good results which meant that I could roll off the gas a little bit here,” said Baird.

“Because of the penalty in qualifying I was shuffled back and if I was to try to seal the championship a little bit earlier, I would have had to take a few unnecessary risks.

“We were so far out in front in the points I was racing no one for the championship but myself. It was just a matter of completing the races and bringing the car back in one piece.”

In the final 13-lap race Richards completed his pass on Percat by out-dragging him going into the beach chicane on lap 7.

Michael Patrizi’s race ended on lap 2 after a coming together with Shae Davies was the pair fought over third position, continuing their feud from the middle heat.

Earlier in Race 2 earlier Percat registered his second for the weekend in a shortened race.

Michael Loccisano suffered race ending damage after a multi-car accident on the opening lap brought the race under caution for five laps.

Percat ended up prevailing in the race which ran to 10 laps, reduced from the original 14, ahead of Steve Richards with Davies surviving to claim third.

Davies came under heavy fire from Patrizi in the closing stages before the later made contact with his fellow Queenslander, effectively ending his attacking run before claiming fourth in his damaged Ausdrill – Onsite car.

Max Twigg completed his third consecutive title in the Elite class.

See below for full results of Race 2

1Coates Hire RacingNick Percat (SA)14:38.8287 9
2Laser Plumbing & ElectricalSteven Richards (VIC)14:38.9546 9
3Davbridge ConstructionsShae Davies (QLD)14:39.5296 9
4Ausdrill – Onsite RacingMichael Patrizi (WA)14:43.2472 9
5No Second Chance/Phase 8Warren Luff (NSW)14:44.9712 9
6Jet Travel InsuranceCraig Baird (NZL)14:45.9691 9
7Team BRM/Rentcorp PropertyDuvashen Padayachee NSW14:51.6495 9
8McGrath Estate AgentsShane Smollen (NSW)14:52.3790 9
9Objective RacingTony Walls (NSW)14:56.2139 9
10Porsche Centre BrightonJames Bergmuller (VIC)14:56.9028 9
11Paul Kelly Motor GroupPaul Kelly (NZL)14:57.1659 9
12AFS/N2CTony Bates (VIC)14:57.3615 9
13Permagard AutomotiveMax Twigg (VIC)14:58.6428 9
14Fujitsu RacingRenee Gracie (QLD)14:58.9186 9
15Rosche VisperDamien Flack (QLD)14:54.6414 8
16Grove GroupStephen Grove (VIC)14:55.7954 8
DNFHallmarcMarc Cini (VIC)10:19.8387 5
DNFHallmarcMichael Loccisano (VIC)

See below of full results of Race 3 

1Laser Plumbing & Electrical Steven Richards (VIC) 16:13.833813
2Coates Hire Racing Nick Percat (SA) 16:16.418113
3Davbridge Constructions Shae Davies (QLD) 16:16.694113
4No Second Chance/Phase 8 Warren Luff (NSW) 16:21.916613
5Jet Travel Insurance Craig Baird (NZL) 16:29.740613
6Team BRM/Rentcorp Property Duvashen Padayachee NSW 16:36.028413
7McGrath Estate Agents Shane Smollen (NSW) 16:41.127113
8Paul Kelly Motor Group Paul Kelly (NZL) 16:52.780913
9Objective Racing Tony Walls (NSW) 16:56.176113
10Porsche Centre Brighton James Bergmuller (VIC) 16:59.200313
11Hallmarc Marc Cini (VIC) 17:00.694213
12Fujitsu Racing Renee Gracie (QLD) 17:01.120713
13AFS/N2C Tony Bates (VIC) 17:06.053713
14Grove Group Stephen Grove (VIC) 17:08.360713
15Permagard Automotive Max Twigg (VIC) 17:20.507513
DNFRosche Visper Damien Flack (QLD)  4:45.1051 3
DNFAusdrill – Onsite Racing Michael Patrizi (WA)  1:20.8961 1


Comments are closed.