Whincup/Dumbrell lead Red Bull one-two at Sandown

Sunday 15th September, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Whincup and Dumbrell celebrate victory

Whincup and Dumbrell celebrate victory

Jamie Whincup fought back from a mid-race disaster to beat team-mate Craig Lowndes to victory in the Sandown 500.

Whincup’s chances had appeared dashed prior to the halfway mark, with a late decision to drag co-driver Paul Dumbrell out of the car at the third pitstop resulting in it being left in second gear.

The resultant spinning of the rear wheels earned a drive-through penalty that mired Whincup down in 25th.

Whincup was able to claw his way back into contention despite an absence of Safety Cars in the second half of the race.

Whincup eventually took the lead from Lowndes with little over 10 laps remaining as the #888 entry began to struggle on fading tyres.

Lowndes cruised home second ahead of Will Davison, whose Ford Performance Racing Falcon made the finish despite a gearbox oil leak.

Davison’s race had looked all but over after his car’s first pitstop, where it had fallen to the back while stacking behind the sister entry of Mark Winterbottom/Steven Richards.

Richards had pitted on the opening lap after stalling on the grid; putting him out-of-sync with the Davison car.

Winterbottom later led Lowndes and Whincup into the penultimate stint, but a slow wheel change subsequently put paid to their chances of anything better than a sixth place finish.

The Lee Holdsworth/Craig Baird Mercedes took Erebus Motorsport’s best result yet in fourth, shadowing Davison to the flag.

Fifth for James Courtney and Greg Murphy was a positive result for the Holden Racing Team after a string of early disasters.

Murphy had received two black flags for loose rear bodywork during his opening stints; the same fate that had befallen the team’s Garth Tander/Nick Percat entry in the opening laps.

Tander eventually took the flag in 22nd after a torrid day that included a long pitstop to fix steering damage that had been sustained in a clash with David Wall.

Others in trouble included Tony D’Alberto/Jonny Reid (sticking throttle), Jason Bright/Andrew Jones (steering), Maro Engel/Steven Johnson (brakes), James Moffat/Taz Douglas (suspension), Scott Pye/Paul Morris (steering) and Tim Blanchard/Ashley Walsh (accident).

Walsh triggered the second Safety Car of the day on Lap 35 when he made heavy contact with the tyre barrier at the high-speed Turn 6 after leaving the road while pressuring Baird.

The first full-course yellow had been called on Lap 19 to address a dislodged apex cone at Turn 6, while the final Safety Car on Lap 66 was again for debris, this time at Turn 6.

Whincup now leads the standings by an extended 96 point margin over Lowndes, who has jumped ahead of both Davison and Winterbottom with today’s result.

See below for the full race result

1J.Whincup/P.DumbrellHolden Commodore VF16103:22:54.62
2C.Lowndes/W.LuffHolden Commodore VF16103:23:02.81
3W.Davison/S.OwenFord Falcon FG16103:23:12.56
4L.Holdsworth/C.BairdMercedes E63 AMG16103:23:13.53
5J.Courtney/G.MurphyHolden Commodore VF16103:23:20.77
6M.Winterbottom/S.RichardsFord Falcon FG16103:23:21.14
7F.Coulthard/L.YouldenHolden Commodore VF16103:23:25.87
8S.McLaughlin/J.PerkinsHolden Commodore VF16103:23:27.93
9R.Ingall/R.BriscoeHolden Commodore VF16103:23:33.15
10A.Premat/G.RitterHolden Commodore VF16103:23:44.50
11T.Kelly/D.RussellNissan Altima16103:23:46.43
12S.Van Gisbergen/J.BleekemolenHolden Commodore VF16103:23:54.26
13J.Webb/M.LiebHolden Commodore VF16103:23:55.18
14C.Mostert/D.WoodFord Falcon FG16103:24:04.30
15A.Davison/J.McIntyreFord Falcon FG16003:22:56.45
16R.Kelly/K.ReindlerNissan Altima16003:23:03.85
17D.Reynolds/D.CantoFord Falcon FG16003:23:03.97
18D.Fiore/M.HallidayHolden Commodore VF16003:23:06.06
19D.Wall/C.PitherHolden Commodore VF16003:23:07.02
20M.Caruso/D.GauntNissan Altima16003:23:10.18
21T.Slade/A.ThompsonMercedes E63 AMG15903:23:17.33
22G.Tander/N.PercatHolden Commodore VF15203:23:33.77
23T.D’Alberto/J.ReidHolden Commodore VF15203:23:58.16
24J.Bright/A.JonesHolden Commodore VF14703:23:19.98
25M.Engel/S.JohnsonMercedes E63 AMG14303:23:37.57
26J.Moffat/T.DouglasNissan Altima12303:23:17.08
DNFS.Pye/P.MorrisHolden Commodore VF13502:56:03.57
DNFAshley WalshFord Falcon FG3342:25.70

See below for the updated points standingsĀ 

1Jamie Whincup2147
2Craig Lowndes2051
3Will Davison2050
4Mark Winterbottom1981
5James Courtney1909
6Fabian Coulthard1901
7Shane Van Gisbergen1770
8Jason Bright1715
9Garth Tander1680
10Scott McLaughlin1498
11Jonathon Webb1389
12David Reynolds1330
13Rick Kelly1215
14James Moffat1209
15Alex Davison1200
16Tony D’Alberto1087
17Alexandre Premat1055
18Chaz Mostert1018
19Russell Ingall100
20Dean Fiore922
21Tim Slade905
22Michael Caruso899
23David Wall881
24Lee Holdsworth875
25Todd Kelly833
26Tim Blanchard703
27Scott Pye649
28Maro Engel636
29Paul Dumbrell300
30Warren Luff276
31Steve Owen258
32Craig Baird240
33Greg Murphy222
34Jonny Reid221
35Steven Richards204
36Luke Youlden192
37Jack Perkins180
38Ryan Briscoe168
39Greg Ritter156
40David Russell144
41Jeroen Bleekemolen138
42Marc Lieb132
43Dale Wood126
44John McIntyre120
45Karl Reindler114
46Dean Canto108
47Matthew Halliday102
48Chris Pither96
49Daniel Gaunt90
50Andrew Thompson84
51Nick Percat78
52Andrew Jones66
53Steven Johnson60
54Taz Douglas54
55Paul Morris0
56Ashley Walsh0



Comments are closed.