Winterbottom wins as championship tightens

Sunday 25th August, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom

Mark Winterbottom scored a rare win on home soil for Ford Performance Racing in Race 26 as a crash involving Jamie Whincup tightened the title battle.

Winterbottom, who had not previously won at Winton, shot ahead of front-row starters Jason Bright and Tony D’Alberto to lead into the first corner.

The real drama, however, unfolded behind, with Alexandre Premat causing a multi-car accident as he rejoined from an off at Turn 2.

The Red Bull Holden of points leader Jamie Whincup took a heavy front-end hit, eventually resulting in a failure to finish.

Others involved included Russell Ingall, Alex Davison, Garth Tander and Michael Caruso.

Upon the restart, Winterbottom soon built a two second advantage over Bright, before the Team BOC Holden began to claw it back.

The pair eventually crossed the line 0.4s apart, with Bright having proven quick enough to catch but not pass his rival.

James Courtney got the better of D’Alberto for third with eight of the 34 laps remaining after an extended battle.

The latter was able to hold out Shane van Gisbergen and David Reynolds in the closing laps to score a career best result.

Will Davison, Fabian Coulthard, Scott McLaughlin and David Wall completed the top 10.

Saturday winner James Moffat benefited from the opening lap carnage and solid race pace to climb from 25th on the grid to 11th.

A 12th place for Craig Lowndes ensures that Whincup’s lead over his team-mate has shrunk to 55 points.

FPR duo Winterbottom and Will Davison are just seven and 24 points further adrift respectively.

See below for the full Race 26 result

1Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG3450:25.52
2Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF3450:25.95
3Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF3450:31.79
4Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF3450:36.79
5TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF3450:37.29
6The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG3450:37.67
7Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG3450:43.32
8Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF3450:43.73
9Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF3450:48.56
10Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF3450:48.81
11Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima3450:49.31
12Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF3450:56.01
13Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG3450:59.70
14Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima3451:00.07
15ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF3451:00.52
16Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF3451:00.79
17SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG3451:01.21
18Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG3451:05.75
19Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG3451:06.10
20Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG3451:10.07
21Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG3451:11.96
22Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima3451:12.52
23Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF2951:14.02
24Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF2750:29.28
DNFRed Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF2039:57.43
DNFNorton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima635:36.40
DNFSupercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF
DNFFujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF


Comments are closed.