Courtney breaks victory drought in Winton finale

  • Sunday 25th August, 2013 5:39pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
James Courtney

James Courtney

James Courtney became the 12th different winner of a tumultuous 2013 V8 Supercars Championship in a thrilling end to the Winton 360.

The win marks the first for Courtney since February, 2011, and comes just weeks after signing a new three-year contract with the Holden Racing Team.

Courtney led the entire 34 lap journey, which had proven processional until the Safety Car was called with 10 laps remaining.

Almost half the field, led by fifth placed Garth Tander and seventh placed Fabian Coulthard, took the opportunity to dive to pitlane for new tyres.

Coulthard was the highest placed of the stoppers at the restart, charging from 13th to be just 2.8s adrift of Courtney in second by the chequered flag.

The Kiwi may well have won the race if not for another late Safety Car, called just one lap after the restart, to retrieve Jason Bright’s stranded car from Turn 11.

Bright, having earlier fallen from second on the grid to fifth with a poor start, had been attempting to take third from Will Davison when he went off.

Chaz Mostert, who had run second for much of the race, gallantly hung onto third in a rough-and-tumble final lap fight with Tander.

Shane van Gisbergen was another to take new tyres and finished ahead of Davison in fifth.

Running third in the closing stages, Davison briefly led the race by spearing off at Turn 5 and rejoining at Turn 9.

Quickly dropping back into his previous position, the FPR Ford driver fell back to sixth by the flag ahead of fellow non-stoppers David Reynolds, James Moffat and Tim Blanchard.

Moffat’s result aside, it was a disastrous outing for Nissan, with its other three cars failing to finish due to crash damage.

Todd Kelly was spun into the right-side fence on the run to Turn 1 after a tag with Jamie Whincup, causing an opening lap Safety Car.

Brother Rick was the cause of the second Safety Car after contact with Mark Winterbottom heading into the Turn 5 sweeper broke the Altima’s rear suspension.

A final lap crash for Michael Caruso completed the woes.

Another in trouble was Scott Pye, whose Lucas Dumbrell Motorsport Holden caught fire after its exhaust had become bent in the opening lap scrum.

Whincup’s championship lead over second placed Craig Lowndes now sits at 47 points heading into the first of the endurance races at Sandown in September.

See below for the Race 27 result

1Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF3455:19.84
2Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF3455:22.79
3Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG3455:24.38
4Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF3455:24.54
5TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF3455:24.80
6Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG3455:25.90
7The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG3455:26.44
8Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima3455:26.88
9Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG3455:28.54
10Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF3455:33.65
11Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF3455:34.03
12Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG3455:34.40
13Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF3455:34.55
14Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF3455:34.73
15Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG3455:34.96
16Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF3455:35.37
17Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG3455:35.55
18Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF3455:35.77
19SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG3455:36.46
20Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG3455:38.89
21Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF3455:44.00
22Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF3456:02.62
DNFNorton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima3354:06.71
DNFTeam BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF2540:19.16
DNFJack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima2132:53.88
DNFekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF
DNFJack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima

See below for the updated points standings

1Jamie Whincup1847
2Will Davison1792
3Mark Winterbottom1777
4Craig Lowndes1775
5Fabian Coulthard1709
6James Courtney1687
7Jason Bright1649
8Shane Van Gisbergen1632
9Garth Tander1602
10Scott McLaughlin1318
11Jonathon Webb1282
12David Reynolds1222
13James Moffat1155
14Rick Kelly1101
15Alex Davison1080
16Tony D’Alberto1015
17Alexandre Premat899
18Chaz Mostert892
19Russell Ingall839
20Tim Slade821
21Dean Fiore820
22Michael Caruso809
23David Wall785
24Tim Blanchard703
25Todd Kelly689
26Scott Pye649
27Lee Holdsworth635
28Maro Engel576
29Jonny Reid149


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -