McLaughlin turns tables on Whincup in Race 23

Sunday 28th July, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Scott McLaughlin celebrates victory

Scott McLaughlin celebrates victory

Scott McLaughlin has scored the second victory of his rookie V8 Supercars Championship season with a controlled performance in Race 23 at Ipswich.

The Fujitsu GRM Holden driver, who shadowed Jamie Whincup to the line in Race 22 on Saturday, proved more than a match for the four-time champion over the 100km journey.

Beating Whincup off the line, McLaughlin showed the way for all 32 laps to lead home his Red Bull Holden rival by 0.7s.

The race was run in dry conditions, with threatening skies failing to deliver. A mid-race Safety Car for debris also failed to change proceedings at the front.

The most intense moment came on the opening lap when Chaz Mostert shot from fourth on the grid to challenge Whincup around the outside of Turns 1, 2 and 3.

Mostert soon fell to seventh by running wide at the Turn 3 hairpin. He recovered to be as high as fifth, only to be pipped by a fast-finishing Jason Bright at the chequered flag.

Further up the road, James Courtney celebrated his new Holden Racing Team contract with third, one place ahead of Fabian Coulthard.

Alex Davison, David Reynolds, Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom completed the top 10.

Tim Slade’s Erebus Mercedes ran in the top 10 during the early stages before eventually falling to 13th.

Fortunes were again far worse for team-mate Lee Holdsworth, who chalked up a fifth consecutive failure to finish after coming off worst in a three-car squeeze with Scott Pye and Shane van Gisbegen moments prior to the Safety Car.

Van Gisbergen, who had struggled in the early stages, took the opportunity to take a new set of tyres under the full course caution. He eventually recovered to 17th.

Nissan’s tough weekend continued as all four of its cars came home line astern outside the top 20.

A final 100km race will complete the Coates Hire Ipswich 360 later this afternoon.

See below for the full Race 23 result

1Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF3239:34.75
2Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF3239:35.45
3Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF3239:37.17
4Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF3239:40.73
5Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF3239:43.38
6Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG3239:43.39
7Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG3239:48.99
8The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG3239:53.37
9Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG3239:53.71
10Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG3239:53.92
11Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF3239:54.89
12Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF3239:55.62
13Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG3239:56.37
14Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF3239:57.56
15Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF3239:58.71
16Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF3239:58.84
17TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF3240:00.02
18Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF3240:00.84
19Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG3240:01.50
20Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF3240:01.60
21Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima3240:04.89
22Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima3240:05.20
23Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima3240:06.68
24Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima3240:07.35
25ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF3240:09.21
26Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF3240:11.59
27SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG3240:13.48
DNFIrwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG506:11.15


Comments are closed.