Casey Stoner receives Queen’s Birthday Honour

Monday 10th June, 2013


Author: ©

Casey Stoner AM

Casey Stoner AM

Double World MotoGP Champion, Casey Stoner has been appointed as a Member of the Order of Australia for significant service to motorcycle racing.

Having stepped away from the World Championship at the end of last year to turn his hand to V8 Supercars with the Pirtek-backed Red Bull Racing Australia effort in the Dunlop V8 Supercars Development Series, Stoner maintains an incredibly high profile internationally following his efforts on two wheels – which saw him win World Championships for Ducati and Honda.

As a youngster, the product from Kurri Kurri in the Hunter Valley was a prolific winner of Championship events with 41 Australian dirt and long track titles and 70 State Championships.

The ‘AM’ – which Stoner adds to his name sits alongside his Young Australian of the Year award which he was presented in 2008 following his first MotoGP World ¬†Championship.

Other motorsport identities honoured in the list today included:

*Clem Smith (OAM) for services to motorsport:

Clem Smith is the owner and promoter of South Australia’s leading circuit racing facility – Mallala Motorsport Park. He has been involved with the facility since 1953 and received an Australian Sports Medal in 2000.

*Trevor Horman (AM)  for significant service to the Northern Territory, particularly through heritage preservation, the motor racing industry, and the engineering profession:

Trevor Horman was a major contributor in the establishment of the Hidden Valley Motorsport complex and has served as the Deputy Race Director for the V8 Supercars event in Darwin since its inception, a life and founding member of the Northern Territory Motorsports Council, Treasurer and founding member of the Hidden Valley Drag Racing Association and a founding member of the Darwin Motorsports Council.

*Peter Hall (OAM) for service to motorsport in South Australia:

Peter Hall was the Chairman of the SA/NT State Council of CAMS between 2004 and 2010, he is the President of the Datsun Car Club of SA, the Chairman of the Collingrove Hillclimb and worked in the community through the development of a motorsports program for troubled youth.

*Margaret Hall (OAM) for service to motorsport in South Australia:

Mrs Hall is a well respected motorsport official, having served as the Secretary of the Datsun Car Club of SA for over 20 years and is the race secretary for the Collingrove Hillclimb. She is a senior pitlane official at the Clipsal 500 and has served as an official at the V8 Supercars event at Hidden Valley.

*Bryson Luff (OAM) for service to the community of Gilgandra:

Bryson Luff is the track announcer at Gilgandra Speedway and has served on numerous other community organisations including the local Men of League chapter, a heavy involvement in Rugby League and Rodeo in the area and has been a school teacher since 1976.


Comments are closed.