Whincup scores pole in dramatic Race 10 qualifying

  • Saturday 4th May, 2013 2:45pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup

Jamie Whincup will start Race 10 of the V8 Supercars Championship from pole position after a red flag-hit 20 minute qualifying session at Barbagallo.

The red flags were required to retrieve David Wall from the Turn 7 sand pit with just 2:23s on the clock after the Wilson Security Holden endured a wild ride while trying to avoid those warming up their tyres on the back straight.

The stoppage came just as the majority were setting up for their final green tyre run, ensuring a mad scramble after the resumption.

Alex Davison had moved to the top seconds before the stoppage, but was subsequently trumped by Whincup, Jason Bright, Fabian Coulthard and Craig Lowndes.

Whincup had been on the verge of being bumped from the top 20 prior to the red flags after completing just a single lap first ‘banker’.

Alex Davison did not go out after the restart and ended up fifth ahead of Mark Winterbottom, Alexandre Premat, Will Davison, Maro Engel and Chaz Mostert.

Will Davison’s session was hampered by a mistake on his first set of tyres, with the #6 team subsequently electing to do an early second run. Davison had been third at the time of the Wall stoppage.

Engel’s performance marks the best effort by an Erebus Mercedes driver, while Mostert enjoys the honour of starting from the top 10 on debut in the championship.

The first leg of Race 10 of the championship will get underway at 1345 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF0:55.3985
2Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF0:55.48040:00.0819
3Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF0:55.51150:00.1130
4Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF0:55.51670:00.1182
5Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG0:55.53730:00.1388
6Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG0:55.54170:00.1432
7Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF0:55.72980:00.3313
8Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG0:55.80440:00.4059
9SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG0:55.85720:00.4587
10Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG0:55.87630:00.4778
11TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF0:55.89600:00.4975
12Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF0:55.92470:00.5262
13Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima0:55.92530:00.5268
14Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG0:55.92870:00.5302
15The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG0:55.93600:00.5375
16Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF0:55.98210:00.5836
17Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF0:55.98500:00.5865
18Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF0:55.98620:00.5877
19Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF0:56.04800:00.6495
20HHA RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG0:56.11540:00.7169
21Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF0:56.12490:00.7264
22Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF0:56.13170:00.7332
23ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF0:56.21200:00.8135
24Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima0:56.22450:00.8260
25Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG0:56.27970:00.8812
26Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima0:56.28760:00.8891
27Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima0:56.29310:00.8946
28Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF0:56.31510:00.9166


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com