Lowndes breaks all-time win record in Race 10

  • Saturday 4th May, 2013 5:11pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Craig Lowndes secured his 91st race victory

Craig Lowndes secured his 91st race victory

Craig Lowndes has taken his 91st career Australian Touring Car Championship/V8 Supercars Championship race victory, drawing clear of Mark Skaife on the all-time win tally.

Lowndes finished second to Jamie Whincup in the first leg, before making what would prove to be the winning move two laps into Leg 2.

The victory is also the 100th for Triple Eight and, with Whincup second, the first one-two in its Red Bull Racing Australia guise.

Mark Winterbottom’s FPR Falcon looked after its tyres superbly in both legs, allowing the #5 Ford to overtake Jason Bright for third in the closing stages.

Alex Davison, Alexandre Premat, David Reynolds, James Courtney, Shane van Gisbergen and James Moffat completed the top 10.

Fabian Coulthard came home 27th after popping a tyre and spearing off while running fifth in the closing stages.

Will Davison had a tyre failure of his own in the first leg, but managed to recover to 14th by the end of Leg 2 – one place ahead of standout rookie Chaz Mostert.

Davison’s troubles have seen Whincup take over the points lead after 10 races.

Another to strike difficulty was Scott Pye, who found himself sliding sideways through the grass – and becoming momentarily airborne – after turning himself around in a three-wide squeeze with Rick Kelly and Garth Tander.

The hastily repaired Ekol Holden returned for the second leg, eventually finishing a lap down after a mechanical black flag for loose bodywork.

Rick Kelly was also a lap down after pitting with a flat tyre, the spate of which appeared to have been caused for running wide over the Turn 5 exit kerb.

Maro Engel gradually fell back from his Leg 1 starting position of ninth to take the flag 24th.

Tim Slade finished as the top Mercedes with a solid run to 13th – three places behind top Nissan runner James Moffat.

Garth Tander struck trouble early in Leg 1 – running through the Turn 7 sand trap after an incident involving Jonathon Webb and Tim Blanchard that will be investigated post-race.

Races 11 and 12 will complete the Chill Perth 360 on Sunday.

See below for the full Race 10 result

1Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF5001:13:05.0887
2Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF5001:13:06.9452
3Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG5001:13:07.0626
4Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF5001:13:09.9730
5Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG5001:13:13.9954
6Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF5001:13:16.3886
7The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG5001:13:18.4141
8Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF5001:13:18.4645
9TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF5001:13:18.5283
10Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima5001:13:19.0078
11Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima5001:13:19.1676
12Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF5001:13:21.5747
13HHA RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG5001:13:22.3314
14Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG5001:13:26.9173
15Wilson Security RacingChaz MostertFord Falcon FG5001:13:27.1750
16Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF5001:13:27.4992
17Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF5001:13:27.8122
18Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG5001:13:28.6970
19Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF5001:13:32.2426
20Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima5001:13:32.6307
21Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG5001:13:34.6179
22Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF5001:13:34.7876
23Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF5001:13:34.9778
24Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF5001:13:36.3384
25SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG5001:13:36.6386
26Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima4901:13:37.3438
27Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF4901:13:37.5934
28ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF4901:13:38.0971

See below for the updated points standings

1Jamie Whincup758
2Will Davison739
3Craig Lowndes691
4Jason Bright619
5Shane Van Gisbergen588
6Garth Tander585
7James Courtney570
8Fabian Coulthard568
9Mark Winterbottom534
10Jonathon Webb515
11Scott McLaughlin503
12Russell Ingall445
13Alex Davison429
14James Moffat401
15Rick Kelly396
16Alexandre Premat371
17Tony D’Alberto368
18David Reynolds366
19Lee Holdsworth332
20Dean Fiore331
21Michael Caruso316
22David Wall316
23Tim Blanchard274
24Tim Slade264
25Scott Pye228
26Todd Kelly181
27Maro Engel179
28Jonny Reid149
29Chaz Mostert40

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com