Coulthard denies Winterbottom in Symmons finale

  • Sunday 7th April, 2013 5:25pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
The Race 5 podium

The Race 5 podium

Fabian Coulthard made the most of a late Safety Car restart to steal the Race 5 victory from Mark Winterbottom at Symmons Plains.

Winterbottom had led away from pole and appeared to have Coulthard covered until the full course yellows flew with 10 laps to go.

The pause was triggered by a sickening accident for Scott Pye, who was lucky to walk away from a head-on impact with the Turn 2 exit wall after suffering a brake failure.

Coulthard dive-bombed Winterbottom at the Turn 4 hairpin with just three laps remaining, nudging the Pepsi Max FPR Falcon aside in the process.

Coulthard went on to take the win while Winterbottom limped to the line second with his left-front tyre flat following the contact.

James Courtney ran third for the entire journey to score his first podium of the year, while Jason Bright won a race long battle with Jamie Whincup on the final lap to take fourth.

Will Davison, Jonathon Webb, Scott McLaughlin, Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander completed the top 10.

Todd Kelly joined Pye on the retirements list after an engine problem with his Nissan.

The race featured two Safety Cars, with the first called to retrieve the rear diffuser of Tim Slade’s Mercedes on Lap 6 after it had fallen onto the circuit.

A miraculous effort from Ford Performance Racing saw David Reynolds return to action following his Race 4 accident.

The car finished just 24th however after a receiving a mechanical black flag to fix left-front mudguard damage while running 12th.

The V8 Supercars Championship will continue New Zealand next weekend for Races 6, 7, 8 and 9 at Pukekohe.

See below for the Race 5 result

1Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF4242:20.8286
2Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG4242:23.1961
3Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF4242:23.6060
4Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF4242:23.7901
5Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF4242:24.0779
6Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG4242:24.3186
7Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF4242:25.3339
8Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF4242:25.4402
9TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF4242:26.0002
10Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF4242:26.2169
11Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF4242:29.4286
12Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG4242:29.4926
13Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG4242:30.1010
14Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF4242:30.5533
15Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima4242:32.8063
16Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima4242:33.2354
17Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima4242:33.6640
18Heavy Haulage RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG4242:34.4020
19Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF4242:34.7126
20Wilson Security RacingJonny ReidFord Falcon FG4242:36.1759
21Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF4242:37.6354
22Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG4142:36.6877
23SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG4142:36.9093
24The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG4142:38.1085
25Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF4143:00.4409
26Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF3742:40.6712
DNFekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF3229:35.4616
DNFJack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima2019:15.2506

See below for the updated championship standings after Race 5

1Jamie Whincup513
2Will Davison450
3James Courtney398
4Craig Lowndes397
5Scott McLaughlin366
6Mark Winterbottom357
7Fabian Coulthard334
8Jonathon Webb332
9Shane Van Gisbergen316
10Garth Tander314
11Russell Ingall290
12Jason Bright284
13Tony D’Alberto269
14Rick Kelly227
15Alexandre Premat218
16James Moffat216
17Dean Fiore215
18Scott Pye214
19Lee Holdsworth212
20Alex Davison199
21David Wall194
22Tim Blanchard191
23Tim Slade146
24Michael Caruso142
25David Reynolds109
26Maro Engel 79
27Jonny Reid 72
28Todd Kelly 38

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -