Coulthard takes maiden V8 Supercars win in Race 1

Friday 15th March, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright continued BJR's strong 2013 form in Race 1

Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright continued BJR’s strong 2013 form in Race 1

Brad Jones Racing has carried on its dominant form at Albert Park, with Fabian Coulthard leading home team-mate Jason Bright for a one-two finish in Race 1 of the weekend.

Coulthard made the most of his pole position to lead the opening laps, but an early Safety Car as the compulsory pitstop cycle was unfolding soon gave the order a minor shakeup.

Shane van Gisbergen and Jason Bright were two of six drivers that were yet to pit when the yellows were called, and subsequently returned to the track ahead of Coulthard.

The Lockwood Holden asserted its authority after the restart, quickly moving by Bright before eventually taking Van Gisbergen with just two laps remaining.

Van Gisbergen pulled into pitlane with a broken gearbox soon after losing the lead, leaving the Kiwi to start Race 2 from 26th.

Will Davison took third behind the two BJR Holdens, while Jamie Whincup survived last lap contact with team-mate Craig Lowndes for fourth.

Lowndes slid from third to fifth on the final lap as his rear tyres went away, leaving the Red Bull Holden to only narrowly edge out Mark Winterbottom and Scott McLaughlin.

Coulthard leads out of Turn1

Coulthard leads out of Turn1

James Moffat and Rick Kelly put in strong performances for Nissan Motorsport in eighth and 10th respectively, split by Garth Tander’s Holden Racing Team Commodore.

Alex Premat’s Fujitsu Holden was the cause of the Lap 3 Safety Car – the Frenchman colliding with a defensive Lee Holdsworth at Turn 1 after exiting pitlane. The contact sent Premat into the concrete wall on the outside of the circuit.

The #34 Holden will not return to the track for the three remaining races.

There had also been carnage on the opening lap, with Tony D’Alberto spinning Michael Caruso amid a three-wide squeeze at Turn 3, scattering the pack in the process.

D’Alberto failed to finish due to the damage sustained to his Holden. Caruso recovered to ensure all four Nissans finished in the top 16.

Holdsworth was the best of the Mercedes entries in 19th despite his collision with Premat.

Having been excluded from qualifying for causing an incident with Premat, Jonny Reid’s weekend didn’t get much better in Race 1. The Dick Johnson Racing Falcon finished in 25th and last position after a mid-race tangle with Scott Pye.

The second of four races for the weekend will get underway at 1420 local time, with the grid set by the Race 1 finishing order.

UPDATE: Winterbottom was dropped to 25th in the result due to an unsafe pit release, while D’Alberto has been deducted 15 points for causing the opening lap incident.

V8 Supercars Race 1 

PosTeamDriverCarBest Lap
1Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF1:57.1541*
2Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF1:57.3077
3Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:57.4978
4Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF1:57.8713
5Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF1:57.3918
6Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF1:58.0275
7Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:57.9921
8Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima1:57.8648
9Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF1:58.4969
10Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima1:58.7437
11Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF1:58.4211
12Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima1:58.8783
13Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF1:58.3736
14The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:58.5974
15Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG1:59.0548
16Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima1:59.4228
17Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF1:59.5918
18Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF1:59.2464
19Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG1:59.3442
20Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF1:59.2732
21Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG1:59.4059
22ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF1:59.7026
23Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG1:59.3380
24SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG2:00.5572
25Wilson Security RacingJonny ReidFord Falcon FG1:59.6942
DNFTEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF1:57.3301
DNFFujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF3:00.6720
DNFTeam HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF


Comments are closed.