Coulthard heads BJR one-two in Albert Park qualifying

Thursday 14th March, 2013


Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©

Fabian Coulthard

Fabian Coulthard

Brad Jones Racing team-mates Fabian Coulthard and Jason Bright  proved the class of the field in V8 Supercars qualifying at Albert Park.

The result marks Coulthard’s first career V8 Supercars pole position and comes off the back of a fast but ultimately fruitless run in Adelaide two weeks ago.

Bright ended up second fastest but will start just fourth thanks to a two-place grid penalty for passing the chequered flag twice at the end of Practice 1.

Shane van Gisbergen and Craig Lowndes both gain from Bright’s penalty to line up second and third respectively.

Fifth through 10th were Jamie Whincup, David Reynolds, Jonathon Webb, Scott McLaughlin, Will Davison and Mark Winterbottom.

Michael Caruso was the fastest of the Nissans in 12th, while Tim Slade was an encouraging 14th in the leading Erebus Mercedes.

As expected, teams split the 30 minute session into three green tyre runs.

A 1:56.44s effort from Whincup proved the best of the initial laps, before the Red Bull driver lowered the benchmark by a scant 0.02s on his second set of tyres.

That effort was quickly eclipsed by the second runs of first Bright (1:56.02s) and then Coulthard (1:55.67s), with both times proving unbeatable over the remaining 12 minutes.

Van Gisbergen was the only driver to penetrate the top four on his third set, leaping from outside the top 10 to third following significant in-session set-up changes.

Tenth for Winterbottom came after the FPR driver damaged the steering in his Falcon on his final lap.

Alexandre Premat’s session ended with rather more visible damage – the front-end of the Fujitsu Holden mangled after contact with Jonny Reid, who had swerved into the path of the fast-approaching Frenchman.

Race 1 of 4 for the V8 Supercars this weekend will get underway at 1100 local time tomorrow.

See below for the full qualifying result

1Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF1:55.6682
2Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF1:56.01730:00.3491
3TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF1:56.04440:00.3762
4Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF1:56.20540:00.5372
5Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF1:56.42270:00.7545
6The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:56.62330:00.9551
7Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF1:56.71290:01.0447
8Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF1:56.72230:01.0541
9Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:56.81930:01.1511
10Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:56.86250:01.1943
11Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF1:57.20190:01.5337
12Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima1:57.21780:01.5496
13Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima1:57.27480:01.6066
14Heavy Haulage Australia RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG1:57.32510:01.6569
15Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF1:57.36500:01.6968
16Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF1:57.41470:01.7465
17ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF1:57.41720:01.7490
18Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF1:57.43900:01.7708
19Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF1:57.46000:01.7918
20Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima1:57.47790:01.8097
21Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima1:57.48820:01.8200
22Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG1:57.50410:01.8359
23Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF1:57.52200:01.8538
24Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG1:57.66290:01.9947
25Wilson Security RacingJonny ReidFord Falcon FG1:57.83550:02.1673
26Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF1:58.00420:02.3360
27Wilson Security RacingTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG1:58.20130:02.5331
28SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG1:58.93060:03.2624

Comments are closed.