Van Gisbergen and Winterbottom stage front-row repeat for Race 2

  • Sunday 3rd March, 2013 12:08pm
  • Author: Stefan Bartholomaeus ©
Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen

Shane van Gisbergen and Mark Winterbottom will share the front-row of the grid for the second consecutive day at the Clipsal 500 after another tight qualifying session.

The Kiwi set the fastest lap of the weekend so far to move to the top on his final lap, stopping the clocks at 1:20.71s just seconds before the chequered flag fell.

Mark Winterbottom missed usurping the Tekno Holden by just 0.11s after the flag having momentarily held P1 before Van Gisbergen’s effort.

Jamie Whincup lost the first lap of his final set of tyres to the Turn 2 kerb sensor but was good enough for third regardless.

Will Davison completes the second row in fourth ahead of Fabian Coulthard, who led the way for much of the session but had his final run destroyed by contact with Garth Tander at the Turn 14 hairpin.

Alexandre Premat, Scott McLaughlin, Craig Lowndes, Russell Ingall and James Courtney round out the top 10, while Tander ended up 14th.

The Holden and Ford runners again dominated the top of the order, with Rick Kelly’s Nissan the fastest of the new marques in 16th.

It was another tough session for the underpowered Mercedes entries, which fill three of the bottom four places.

Maro Engel’s run was hampered by a continuation of the throttle problems that struck the #9 SP Tools E63 in Race 1.

Van Gisbergen’s pole position is the third of his career, leaving the 24-year-old hoping to improve on his Saturday effort, where he attempted to start the race in neutral.

“All I’ve got to do is remember to put it in gear at the start and we’ll be ok,” he smiled after the session.

“We had a good race car yesterday but had a gearbox problem. Hopefully we’ll be in the top five all day, I’ll be stoked with that.”

Coulthard, meanwhile, was philosophical after speaking to Tander post-session.

“It was a bit line-ball,” he said of the incident. “I thought my headlights were on and Garth said they weren’t.

“It’s disappointing to see a pole position slip away, but we’ve got a good race car and 250kms is a long race.”

Race 2 of the 2013 V8 Supercars Championship will kick-off at 1435 local time.

See below for the full qualifying result

1TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF1:20.7148
2Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:20.82330:00.1085
3Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF1:20.85530:00.1405
4Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:20.93290:00.2181
5Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF1:20.93380:00.2190
6Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF1:21.10510:00.3903
7Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF1:21.10710:00.3923
8Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF1:21.14060:00.4258
9Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF1:21.19000:00.4752
10Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF1:21.34500:00.6302
11Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF1:21.41100:00.6962
12Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG1:21.43250:00.7177
13The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:21.43860:00.7238
14Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF1:21.45680:00.7420
15ekol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF1:21.53210:00.8173
16Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima1:21.53780:00.8230
17Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF1:21.55780:00.8430
18Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF1:21.57470:00.8599
19Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima1:21.70910:00.9943
20Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF1:21.71430:00.9995
21AdvamTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG1:21.96850:01.2537
22Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF1:22.17830:01.4635
23Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima1:22.20160:01.4868
24Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima1:22.28140:01.5666
25Heavy Haulage RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG1:22.30140:01.5866
26Wilson Security RacingJonny ReidFord Falcon FG1:22.39250:01.6777
27Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG1:22.39680:01.6820
28SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG1:23.37310:02.6583

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -