Lowndes edges Van Gisbergen to provisional Adelaide pole

  • Friday 1st March, 2013 4:16pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Craig Lowndes' Red Bull Holden

Craig Lowndes’ Red Bull Holden

Craig Lowndes will be the last man out in this afternoon’s Top 10 Shootout after topping an extraordinarily close qualifying session on the streets of Adelaide.

Lowndes’ best early time of 1:20.8731s was matched to all four decimal places by Shane van Gisbergen as the chequered flag fell – with the Red Bull Holden driver keeping the top spot on the account of having set the time first.

Lowndes had elected not to return to the track for the final six minutes following a lengthy red flag delay caused by Maro Engel’s Mercedes expiring at Turn 4.

Despite the Mercedes having dropped coolant throughout the opening four corners, several drivers managed to improve in the closing stages, with Jamie Whincup, Will Davison and Fabian Coulthard securing third through fifth respectively on their last laps.

Scott McLaughlin, Alexandre Premat, Mark Winterbottom, Jonathon Webb and James Courtney complete the Top 10 Shootout field.

Scott Pye missed out on the top 10 by just one place after an impressive performance on debut as a full-time driver.

Michael Caruso was the best of the Nissans in 13th and will share the seventh row with team-mate James Moffat. All four Altimas in the field managed to lap within a second of pole.

The best of the Erebus Mercedes entries, Lee Holdsworth and Tim Slade, are back on row 12, while Engel will start from the rear after his issues.

The biggest scalp of the interrupted session was Garth Tander, who had been mired down in 18th when the red flags were thrown. He will start 18th, despite improving his time on his final lap.

See below for the full Qualifying result

1Red Bull Racing AustraliaCraig LowndesHolden Commodore VF1:20.8731
2TEKNO Team VIPShane Van GisbergenHolden Commodore VF1:20.87310:00.0000
3Red Bull Racing AustraliaJamie WhincupHolden Commodore VF1:20.88920:00.0161
4Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordWill DavisonFord Falcon FG1:21.05940:00.1863
5Lockwood RacingFabian CoulthardHolden Commodore VF1:21.14960:00.2765
6Fujitsu Racing GRMScott McLaughlinHolden Commodore VF1:21.18650:00.3134
7Fujitsu Racing GRMAlexandre PrematHolden Commodore VF1:21.23230:00.3592
8Pepsi Max Crew FPR FordMark WinterbottomFord Falcon FG1:21.26530:00.3922
9Tekno AutosportsJonathon WebbHolden Commodore VF1:21.30060:00.4275
10Holden Racing TeamJames CourtneyHolden Commodore VF1:21.31360:00.4405
11e`kol RacingScott PyeHolden Commodore VF1:21.50840:00.6353
12Supercheap Auto RacingRussell IngallHolden Commodore VF1:21.61640:00.7433
13Norton 360 RacingMichael CarusoNissan Altima1:21.67010:00.7970
14Norton 360 RacingJames MoffatNissan Altima1:21.69030:00.8172
15Dodo Insurance RacingDean FioreHolden Commodore VF1:21.69300:00.8199
16Jeld-wen FPR FordAlex DavisonFord Falcon FG1:21.73930:00.8662
17Jack Daniel’s RacingTodd KellyNissan Altima1:21.74770:00.8746
18Holden Racing TeamGarth TanderHolden Commodore VF1:21.78320:00.9101
19Jack Daniel’s RacingRick KellyNissan Altima1:21.86510:00.9920
20Team BOCJason BrightHolden Commodore VF1:21.87540:01.0023
21The Bottle-O FPR FordDavid ReynoldsFord Falcon FG1:21.90480:01.0317
22Team HIFLEXTony D’AlbertoHolden Commodore VF1:21.97090:01.0978
23Irwin RacingLee HoldsworthMercedes E63 AMG1:22.12060:01.2475
24Heavy Haulage RacingTim SladeMercedes E63 AMG1:22.25180:01.3787
25AdvamTim BlanchardFord Falcon FG1:22.27490:01.4018
26Wilson Security RacingDavid WallHolden Commodore VF1:22.28370:01.4106
27Wilson Security RacingJonny ReidFord Falcon FG1:22.87200:01.9989
28SP Tools RacingMaro EngelMercedes E63 AMG1:23.21330:02.3402

See below for Speedcafe.com’s Clipsal 500 Adelaide Race Guide

Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com