ENTRY LIST: Dunlop Series receives big entry for Clipsal

  • Wednesday 27th February, 2013 2:00am
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
The Dunlop Series will feature a 30 car grid for the opening round in Adelaide this weekend

The Dunlop Series will feature a 30 car grid for the opening round in Adelaide this weekend

Thirty Dunlop Series V8 Supercars will hit the track for the opening round of the development series in Adelaide this weekend.

The 30-car Ford and Holden field equals the record set in 2007 of the most Dunlop Series cars to start the opening round in South Australia.

While new Matthew White Motorsport signing Chaz Mostert has been earmarked as the early favourite for the 2013 title, most of the attention this year will surround rookie driver Casey Stoner.

The two-time MotoGP world champion will unveil his Red Bull and Pirtek-sponsored Commodore VE in Adelaide this morning.

Stoner will become the third Australian motorcycling world champion to compete in V8 Supercars, following Wayne Gardner and Troy Bayliss.

Kristian Lindbom will race with new team Evans Motorsport Group in the Dunlop Series this year

Kristian Lindbom will race with new team Evans Motorsport Group in the Dunlop Series this year

Stoner has enjoyed two days of testing prior to the opening event, and while it may take him some time to reach the front of the field, he has the advantage of driving for Australia’s most successful V8 team in recent history – Triple Eight.

But even driving an ex-Bathurst winning chassis (the Craig Lowndes/Mark Skaife Commodore from 2010), it would be too much to expect him to be challenging for wins early.

The wins are largely expected to be fought out between Mostert, his MWM team-mate Dale Wood, Matt Stone Racing’s Ash Walsh, main series refugee Taz Douglas and former class champion Andrew Jones.

While the field is one of the largest seen in some time, those in a position to challenge those above appears thin, however, look for promising signs from a group of fast youngsters, including George Miedecke (MSR), Chris Pither (Brad Jones Racing), Cameron Waters (Minda), Gary Jacobson (Sonic) and Josh Hunter (Finance EZI).

Of the 30 entries, only the #38 entry from Ben Eggleston’s Marque Management team does not have a driver listed.

The Dunlop Series entries will hit the track for the first time on Thursday, with races scheduled for Friday evening and Saturday morning.

#Team Sponsor NameCAMS Competitor NameDriverModel
10Image RacingImage RacingTaz DouglasFG
11Garage Nineteen RsportRace EngineeringAaron TebbVE II
20Advam RacingBrad Jones RacingAndrew JonesVE II
24Pacific Hoists & HitachiNandi KissChris AlajajianVE
26GB GalvanizingMW MotorsportDale WoodFG
27Triple Eight Race EngineeringTriple Eight Race EngineeringCasey StonerVE II
28MW MotorsportMW MotorsportMorgan HaberFG
30TBCBellmont NomineesNick McBrideFG
31Evans Motorsport GroupEvans Motorsport GroupKristian LindbomFG
35iSeekStone RacingGeorge Miedecke FG
38Marque ManagementMarque ManagementTBCVE II
42Icebreak RacingBrad Jones RacingChris PitherVE II
43Rockit & Blackchrome SportswearSam WalterSam WalterVE II
44Finance EziJosh HunterJosh HunterFG
48R&J Batteries/NDDEmery MotorsportGeoff EmeryVE II
51Poll PerformanceGreg Murphy RacingJim PollicinaVE
54Eggleston MotorsportEggleston MotorsportJay VerdnikVE
58Go Karts GoNovocastrian MotorsportDrew RussellFG
59CEG RentalsNovocastrian MotorsportAaren RussellFG
60Gulf Western OilNovocastrian MotorsportMichael HectorFG
62Warrin MiningVolvo Construction EquipmentAdam WallisVE
64Finance EziAndre HeimgartnerAndre HeimgartnerFG
71Action RacingAction RacingMarcus ZukanovicVE
73Formula Tech PerformanceBrett StewartBrett StewartVE
75Resi RacingAuto-Motion AustraliaAaron McGillVE II
87Infants FriendMatt Stone RacingAsh WalshFG
98Minda MotorsportBruin BeasleyCameron WatersVE II
99Sherrin RentalsMW MotorsportChaz MostertFG
777Rodney Jane RacingRodney Jane RacingRodney JaneFG
999Rodney Jane RacingRodney Jane RacingGary JacobsonFG


Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Speedcafe.com Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 - Speedcafe.com