Eugene Laverty wins second World Superbike race at Phillip Island

  • Sunday 24th February, 2013 6:20pm
  • Author: SpeedCafe ©
Eugene Laverty celebrates with partner Pippa Morson

Eugene Laverty celebrates with partner Pippa Morson

Irishman Eugene Laverty has turned the tables on his Aprilia factory team-mate Sylvain Guintoli to win the second World Superbike race at Phillip Island’s season-opening round this afternoon.

Laverty sat behind Guintoli for most of the race – and even dropped back to third behind Marco Melandri (BMW) at one stage – before making his decisive move with four laps to go, and confirming his intentions with a new lap record of 1m31.168secs just a short time later. The previous lap record of 1:31.323 was set by Michel Fabrizio (Aprilia) in race one.

Guintoli finished 0.418s behind Laverty in the 22-lapper, while BMW-backed Melandri — who crashed in race one after being taken out by Ducati’s Carlos Checa – completed the race in third – but not before a minor scare when Fabrizio tapped the back of his bike at turn nine on the last lap.

Fabrizio remained upright to finish fourth, with the top eight was completed by Tom Sykes (Kawasaki), Davide Giugliano (Aprilia), WSBK rookie Jules Cluzel (Suzuki) and Jonathan Rea (Honda). Rea’s team-mate Leon Haslam was ninth, but had to fight his way back trough the pack after a lap one melee which also involved Loris Baz (Kawasaki) and Chaz Davies (BMW).

Checa wasn’t on the grid fort race two after his heavy crash in race one, after which he was flown to hospital in Melbourne for observation.

Australian pair Glenn Allerton (BMW) and Jamie Stauffer (Honda) were 12th and 13th respectively in race two.

A total of 61,500 spectators attended this year’s WSBK round over the three days.  The next round will be held in Aragon, Spain from April 12-14.


1Eugene LavertyAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 Factory
2Sylvain GuintoliAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 Factory
3Marco MelandriBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBKBMW S1000 RR
4Michel FabrizioRed Devils Roma) ApriliaAprilia RSV4 Factory
5Tom SykesKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R
6Davide GiuglianoAlthea RacingAprilia RSV4 Factory
7Jules CluzelFixi Crescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000
8Jonathan ReaPata Honda World SuperbikeHonda CBR1000RR
9Leon CamierFixi Crescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R1000
10Leon HaslamPata Honda World SuperbikeHonda CBR BR1000RR
11Max NeukirchnerMR-RacingDucati Panigale1199
12Glen AllertonNext Gen MotorsportsBMW S1000 RR
13Jamie StaufferTeam Honda RacingHonda CBR1000RR
14Federico SandiTeam PederciniKawasaki ZX-10R
15Alexander LundhTeam PederciniKawasaki ZX-10R
16Vittorio IannuzzoGrillini Dentalmatic SBKBMW S1000 RR
17Chaz DaviesBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBKBMW S1000 RR
DNFIvan ClementiHTM RacingBMW S1000 RR
DNFLoris BazKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R
DNSCarlos ChecaTeam Ducati AlstareDucati Panigale 1199



1Eugene LavertyAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 Factory45
2Sylvain GuintoliAprilia Racing TeamAprilia RSV4 Factory45
3Michel FabrizioRed Devils Roma) ApriliaAprilia RSV4 Factory29
4Tom SykesKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R22
5Marco MelandriBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBKBMW S1000 RR16
6Jonathan ReaPata Honda World SuperbikeHonda CBR1000RR16
7Leon HaslamPata Honda World SuperbikeHonda CBR BR1000RR15
8Jules CluzelFixi Crescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100014
9Leon CamierFixi Crescent SuzukiSuzuki GSX-R100014
10Chaz DaviesBMW Motorrad GoldBet SBKBMW S1000 RR13
11Max NeukirchnerMR-RacingDucati Panigale119911
12Davide GiuglianoAlthea RacingAprilia RSV4 Factory10
13Loris BazKawasaki Racing TeamKawasaki ZX-10R10
14Glen AllertonNext Gen MotorsportsBMW S1000 RR6
15Ivan ClementiHTM RacingBMW S1000 RR4
16Jamie StaufferTeam Honda RacingHonda CBR1000RR4
17Alexander LundhTeam PederciniKawasaki ZX-10R4
18Federico SandiTeam PederciniKawasaki ZX-10R2




Get your daily racing fix delivered to your inbox!

Try our daily email, The best way to get your news first, fast and free!

By submitting above you agree to the Privacy Policy

About Us | Contact Us | Advertise with Speedcafe | Privacy | All material copyright © 2015 -